2001 BMW 1150RT: The exploding cam chain guide saga

Discussion in 'Road Warriors' started by whystay, Jul 22, 2021.

1. whystay

whystay n00b

Oddometer:
    Hello all, sometime lurker here. I bought a 2001 R1150RT with 57k KMS a year ago. A few weeks into ownership, the cam chain guide disintegrated upon installing the upgraded tensioner. This is not a story of how i rebuilt the engine but how I learned to get as much of the old chain guide out of the engine. It may be of use to others who are having this problem.

First off, knowing what I now know, I wouldn't be too quick to do an engine swap. The rebuild process wasn't too hard or expensive and i would certainly do it again if I had to. I'm a hack mechanic. Worked on dirt bikes as a youth and destroyed an outboard motor being stupid. So ya, your typical hack.

When your chain guides explode, (typically its the left upper one) you can replace that one using the "Steptoe" method. I didn't do that because I wanted to get all of the broken bits out of the sump first. Chris Harris recommends swabbing the sump with a rag dipped in petroleum jelly. I didn't do that. I used the following methods which gave me some result.

The following methods were carried out with both cylinders removed. You will likely be working mostly through the left cylinder hole.

1. Use compressed air. You will hear the plastic bits rattling around inside. These are the low hanging fruit. Use a variety of flexible nozzles. Depending on how lucky you are, this can be quite fruitful. Collect all the bits as they come flying out of the engine. This is important for later.

2. Use a vacuum cleaner (one that you don't mind getting oily). Again, fab a few different nozzles because there's not much space in there.