2012 multi with 15k used 7k

Discussion in 'Moto Bellissima: All Other Dualsports' started by satz, Sep 21, 2019.

1. satz

satz Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Looking at a touring s .multi 2012. Has the ohlin and some nice bits. 15 k is not done. Desmo full service chang need to be done . But forks were just serviced. No smu . Tires and sprocket decent and I can do it if needed next summer but I do need to the big serivce.

Price around 7k.

Total newbie on duc. Previous 200k miles on bandit ,fz1,fjr ,vstrom and vstar touring when I decided to be a pirate for a while.
  2. equ

equ Adventurer

Oddometer:
    FWIW, I sold my 2013 touring S with 7.5k miles for $8k. It was up for belts (due to time), but had new fluids and tires. It was halfway to the 15k desmo service, which is more than $1k. The 2013-14's are a bit smoother at low throttle; some claim the 10-12's are overall better... Who knows. Also the 2013-14's are Skyhook/Sachs fully electronic. Not Ohlins, very smooth ride, push button suspension modes. Finally 13-14's have LED headlights and a bit better stock windscreen.
    satz likes this.
  3. Tripped1

Tripped1 Smoove, Smoove like velvet.

Oddometer:
    Call a couple dealers and see what they want for the belt/valve service.

My last big was $1100 but I had them do a new chain and a set of tires as well, otherwise I had already done oil, anti-freeze, and battery. They SHOULD present you with a list and it should be less than a $1000 assuming that they don't need to shim it, then that goes up about $400-500 on hours involved.

My bike is on its forth major, and hasn't had a shim yet.

....and if you get it the $400 for the Ohlins SCU automagic box is worth it.
    TrailBreak and satz like this.
  4. TrailBreak

TrailBreak Eternal Pessimist

Oddometer:
    I've been eyeing that Ohlins box for my '11.
  5. ebrew

ebrew Motorcycle A.D.D.

Oddometer:
    13-14 have different main bearings

Nice 13 GT in the flea market ( nothing to do with it )
  6. ebrew