2014+ DL1000 Vstrom

Discussion in 'Japanese polycylindered adventure bikes' started by The Game, Sep 11, 2012.

  1. Ridin'nFishin

    Ridin'nFishin Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Oddometer:
    781
    Location:
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
    I just bought a 2014 Vstrom 1000 and did not get a book with it.

    How much motor oil does it take when changing the oil and filter?

    Thanks,
  2. hawkgt

    hawkgt Where to and when?

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Oddometer:
    365
    Location:
    Hermantown, MN
    3.5 liters, but I go about 2/3 the way up the sight glass once it's been run and circulated thru the system and then shut off and settled.
    davyjones likes this.
  3. SloRonStinkypants

    SloRonStinkypants Without nipples Tits are pointless.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Oddometer:
    5,250
    Location:
    Berlin/OceanCity MD
    Oil???
    You are supposed to change it?
  4. billyal33

    billyal33 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Oddometer:
    105
    Location:
    northern ireland
    3.5 litres with the filter, 3 without. I do the filter every other oil change. I've never had to top up yet in 6 years and 33k miles.
    davyjones likes this.
  5. Jimo368

    Jimo368 Quantum Mechanic

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Oddometer:
    576
    Location:
    Northwestern Ontario
    I pour mine from a 5 litre jug and never pay attention how much it took, but it’s is stamped 2.7 litres on the side of the bike. 9CC6676A-13D8-41AA-BCB2-D3761CE67A19.jpeg
    davyjones likes this.
  6. Ridin'nFishin

    Ridin'nFishin Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Oddometer:
    781
    Location:
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
    Thanks guys. I need a clymer.
  7. 2thdrinOR

    2thdrinOR Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Oddometer:
    537
    Location:
    Monmouth, OR
    Yummy... JPEG_20201017_185209_6281478843056115546.jpg
  8. 2thdrinOR

    2thdrinOR Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Oddometer:
    537
    Location:
    Monmouth, OR
    Out with the old... JPEG_20201017_185517_4067182599825807039.jpg
    ROYAL COACHMAN and Hanz like this.
  9. Jimo368

    Jimo368 Quantum Mechanic

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Oddometer:
    576
    Location:
    Northwestern Ontario
    Lettuce know if it makes a difference
  10. Griff2

    Griff2 Griff

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,834
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Yes surprisingly good with regard to oil consumption. other vee twins I have owned are not so good. I include KTM 950's and Varadero in that.
    davyjones likes this.
  11. billyal33

    billyal33 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Oddometer:
    105
    Location:
    northern ireland
    I do change the oil every 4k but never top up, it just stays on the full mark, I'm not easy on her but then again its never that hot here. My Triumph tiger 1050 used a litre of oil between every 3k change.
    My old dad always said when its using oil its trade in time!
    davyjones likes this.
  12. Griff2

    Griff2 Griff

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,834
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Hmmm. If that is the case then I should have traded my KTM's from new :(

    Both my former 950's used oil from new and then as the mileage built up they used less :hmmmmm
  13. 2thdrinOR

    2thdrinOR Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Oddometer:
    537
    Location:
    Monmouth, OR
    My V-Strom doesn't use oil. It seems the new normal, at least with cars/trucks, is to use lighter weight oils and expect at least one litre/quart of oil consumption per 5k miles.
    davyjones likes this.
  14. billyal33

    billyal33 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Oddometer:
    105
    Location:
    northern ireland
    I ride with 3 mates on Euro bikes, 1260 multi, tiger12 and gs12 and they all use oil, Duc the most. When touring they take oil with them (as its fancy stuff), i might remember to look at the sight glass every few days.
    My wee Suzuki car is ten years old now thou not many miles, 60k and I've never topped it up either.
    davyjones and 996DL like this.
  15. 2thdrinOR

    2thdrinOR Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Oddometer:
    537
    Location:
    Monmouth, OR
    All done, new Touratech Explore shock installed. It was set up perfectly for my riding weight...51mm rider sag (solo). I haven't played with it yet to see how much adjustable preload is currently used versus what is left for two up riding. Going on a test ride.
    View attachment 2605586

    Attached Files:

    B-Mac likes this.
  16. 2thdrinOR

    2thdrinOR Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Oddometer:
    537
    Location:
    Monmouth, OR
  17. billyal33

    billyal33 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Oddometer:
    105
    Location:
    northern ireland
    Very nice bit of kit. I have a Wilbers shock in mine but it was badly set up, I'd to remove 3 full turns on the preload to get 50mm sag. Sounds like yours was right outa the box.
    2thdrinOR likes this.
  18. B-Mac

    B-Mac Aged Beef Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,283
    Location:
    Hocking Hills, Ohio
    I went with HyperPro rear shock. Klaus the wilbers man is with EPM.
    Very Happy: https://epmperf.com/ 2014-16 Dl1000 V-Strom Shock 001.JPG
    davyjones and 996DL like this.
  19. 2thdrinOR

    2thdrinOR Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Oddometer:
    537
    Location:
    Monmouth, OR
    B-Mac likes this.
  20. NHTOTEROAD

    NHTOTEROAD Long timer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,093
    Location:
    Center of the 603
    How do you all support the bike for front wheel removal? I have a 2016 DL 1K A. No center stand. Nothing overhead to support it from above.
    I believe I have read suggestions here. But I couldn't find any old postings. I have a paddock stand for the rear. But, it doesn't fit the front. Thanks