2014 KTM 500 EXC Re Map ?

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by Towerman, Jan 1, 2014.

  1. Towerman

    Towerman I love desert

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4
    Location:
    Sandy OR
    Can the 2014 KTM 500 EXC ECU be remapped ? I have been told that it is locked from the factory. I don't know if it is different from the earlier versions.

    Thanks
    #1
  2. rufus

    rufus We're burning daylight...

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Oddometer:
    5,387
    Location:
    Coweta Oklahoma
    Yes it can be remapped.
    #2
  3. Towerman

    Towerman I love desert

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4
    Location:
    Sandy OR
    Thanks for the reply. My local shop was able to figure it out and get it done.
    #3
  4. Go Irish75

    Go Irish75 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Oddometer:
    363
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    A lot of dealers won't go near unlocking a locked ECU due to KTM penalizing dealers that do this. But you can find guys that will. I had Thumper Racing from Nevada unlock mine and add the Euro exc-w map. Much richer, but much happier bike :) A lot of guys to with a US xc-w map as well with nice results.
    #4
  5. niggles

    niggles Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    BEND. OREGON.
    Had my 2014 500 exc re maped and now have a flash code on my FI light and a really bad misfire at 65 in sixth gear on the road and big misfire high rpm off road.Low speed runs great any thoughts? Map was the euro and a FMF 4.1
    #5
  6. Go Irish75

    Go Irish75 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Oddometer:
    363
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Hmmm interesting. Post that over at www.ktmtalk.com and you'll get pointed in the right direction for sure.
    #6
  7. wsmc831

    wsmc831 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Oddometer:
    977
    Location:
    Central Oregon
    Did it start right after a new map was put on? Any chance it feels like fuel starvation, maybe clogged injector?
    #7
  8. niggles

    niggles Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    BEND. OREGON.
    It happened after the remap,the flash code is Lambda sensor heater cylinder 1,sensor 1-input signal too high.Does feel like it might be fuel or lack of, not sure what the Lambda does? going to take it back to the dealer next week.It does run very well at low speed just needs to keep running after half throttle to full.Also ran well stock but had a misfire on throttle shut down but ran sharp,did flame out when it was running at slow speed. thanks for the info
    #8
  9. niggles

    niggles Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    BEND. OREGON.
    Dealer loaded the XCW map and both bike and rider are happy,
    #9
  10. guns_equal_freedom

    guns_equal_freedom Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    7,277
    That's because the dealer loaded the a version of the map that uses inputs from an O2 sensor. The ECU was looking for inputs from the O2 sensor.
    #10
  11. BrapBurt

    BrapBurt n00b

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1
    Location:
    NorCal
    Being from California I cant find anyone to remap my stock Ecu to the xcw map. So I was thinking about just ordering an xcw map. that way if I want to make mapping changes I can just ship that one out of state and keep riding. Any thoughts? Also I can't find a part number for an ecu. I'm asumming you are able to order one from ktm?
    Thanks!
    *xcw - thanks auto correct
    #11
  12. 13exc500fz1

    13exc500fz1 RIDE OR DIE

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Oddometer:
    483
    Location:
    Newark California

    What part of California I got myn re mapped and there are a few options


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    #12
  13. Motologyktm

    Motologyktm n00b

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Oddometer:
    4
    Location:
    Port City
    I just dropped off my bike to have the Eu map installed. I later got a call from the tech that said they've been getting on him about adding the eu and now he will be installing the usa xc-w map. Is there any disadvantage to this?
    #13
  14. 13exc500fz1

    13exc500fz1 RIDE OR DIE

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Oddometer:
    483
    Location:
    Newark California

    Absolutely there is no map switch selector and substantially less power. however understand that him saying that KTM is getting onto them it's only because KTM sent out the letter they are not getting on to him he just has to be concerned about the EPA and carb fine. Really want to have a remapped take EC you out and you can ship it to one of two places p.m. me if you would like to know. In states where there is no regulation is perfectly legal to have it done


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    #14
    cmbthumper likes this.
  15. Racerman27410

    Racerman27410 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Oddometer:
    751
    Location:
    Greensboro NC
    Whatever it takes....Get the euro map.... get the map switch.

    its really nice to be able to tame the beast down on the mild setting when in the really technical stuff and then flip the switch to wild when the trail opens up.
    #15
  16. 13exc500fz1

    13exc500fz1 RIDE OR DIE

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Oddometer:
    483
    Location:
    Newark California

    +1


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    #16
  17. retroone

    retroone Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,045
    Location:
    albq NM
    Wrong map. That what happened to my 350.

    #17
  18. dieselcruiserhead

    dieselcruiserhead Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,678
    Location:
    Park City, Utah
    Just purchased a 501 and ran into the same thing with the Lamba 02 sensor. Does anyone have the correct code title or number to help him sort it out?

    thanks, a
    #18
  19. sieg

    sieg Wearing out tires......2 at a time, day after day. Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Oddometer:
    7,112
    Location:
    Southern Illinois USA
    +1 exactly, you need to use the xc-w map not the euro map on the newer bikes with an O2 sensor.
    #19
  20. dieselcruiserhead

    dieselcruiserhead Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,678
    Location:
    Park City, Utah
    I found the answer to my own question. The EU map also allows for use of the 3 position switch, even on a 500 (I have been told several times that the switch only works for 350s)


    Switch here:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2014-KTM-...695599?hash=item33abcd606f:g:-l0AAOSw~bFWMRon

    Trail Tech Handlebar Switch: Ignition Map plus Kill Switch - Orange. Fits:

    Husaberg
    FE 250/350/450/501; 2013
    KTM
    250/350/450/500 XC-W/EXC/EXC-F; 2011, 2012 & 2013
    250/350 SX-F/XC-F; 2014
    450 SX-F/XC-F; 2013 & 2014
    690 Enduro; 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 & 2014
    690 Duke; 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 & 2014
    690 SMC; 2009

    *KTM 690 applications, the STOCK position on the switch will set the mapping to the "BAD FUEL" setting. Only use WILD and MILD settings for this vehicle.

    For closed course only

    Change the way the engine behaves with the flick of a switch. Quickly move between stock, mild and wild based on what the environment demands. Plugs in to stock connectors. Kill switch integrated. Comes in colors that match your bike.

    KTM EFI models will require the use of a competition map loaded on the bikes ECM in order to use Trail Tech's 3-Position Ignition Mapping Switch.

    Have your dealer install the EU map for your machine:

    Displacement:
    EXC
    500; KM787EU12C0651
    450; KM781EU12C0651
    350; KM775EU12C0652
    XC-W
    500; KM787EU12C0601 - Updated to KM787EU14D701
    450; KM781EU12C0601
    350; KM775EU12C0601

    Detailed information about map files and mapping upgrades are available at your local KTM dealer.
    [​IMG]
    #20
    Fast1 likes this.