2016 oops 2020 AK-Colorado to Prudhoe Bay and back.....

Discussion in 'Americas' started by Big_John, Jan 2, 2016.

1. Big_John

Big_John That'll be the day

Oddometer:
    Resurrecting this thread.... as we are doing it again in 2020.

Posts will be on this thread and on our BlogSpot

https://johnaudra2ak.blogspot.com/

==========================================

Ride is over.....Mechanical Failure.....

http://advrider.com/index.php?threads/911-shift-problems-on-sunday.1154470/

===========================================

I finally have the BLOG built and started....feel free to follow along.....

http://johnaudra2ak.blogspot.com

===========================================

I suppose it is time to put a stake in the ground and make a public commitment to a ride that I have been dreaming about for 8 years. It's time to go to Alaska.

The dates are still a little up in the air, but the window is between the middle of June to the middle of July. Likely I will only have 18-19 days, so that will have to be a quick paced ride. One of these days I will retire and then I won't be pressed for time, but for now.....the amount of time is what it is.

The rough plan..... Leave Colorado Springs and ride straight to Deadhorse/Prudhoe Bay. I have decided to avoid the eastern route, doing the Cassiar up and back. There won't be time for side excursions, but I am counting on the main route to offer a spectacular experience. Once leaving the far northern reaches, I will scoot back to Anchorage and pick up the wife from the airport, where she will join me for the ride home, 2-up. Top of the World and Dawson will be a loop off the beaten path, but it will be the Cassiar back down, toward Banff, then Glacier, then Yellow Stone and home.

I'll try to be decent about my planning updates here, detailing it out as the months pass. Then when the trip is kicked off, I will add as many stories and photos as I can.

Here is my steed!

[​IMG]