2018 1290 SAR running rough and bogging at higher rpms/throttle positions

Discussion in 'Hard. Core. (1090/1190/1290)' started by kid a, Sep 20, 2019.

  1. kid a

    kid a Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Oddometer:
    116
    Hey guys, I'm sure the answer is already on the forum here somewhere but I'm in Canada on a motorcycle camping trip and from the States so I'm under data roaming on my cell phone and don't want to search forever for the answer.

    I've been on this trip for 8 days now, bike ran perfect all the way,u couple thousand miles, until today. It stutters and bogs down while giving it decent throttle at anything above 4000/4500 rpms.

    Battery voltage seems good. Bike starts and runs as normal under light throttle. I'm continuing on, but can't accelerate very swiftly without it running like crap.

    Thanks guys!
    #1
  2. obrianmcc

    obrianmcc Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,179
    Location:
    Boise Idaho
    ... fuel filters

    When were they last changed?
    #2
    TakSD likes this.
  3. Saltboxlad

    Saltboxlad Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,323
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Does sounds suspiciously like fuel starvation, @obrianmcc beat me to it.
    #3
  4. kid a

    kid a Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Oddometer:
    116
    I don't know, bought it used with 7000 miles on it
    #4
  5. Capo Rick

    Capo Rick Please understand... Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Oddometer:
    2,846
    Location:
    NoPo Oregon
    100% fuel filters. Do you have a KTM dealer nearby?
    #5
  6. kid a

    kid a Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Oddometer:
    116
    So, last night I got into town with one bar left on the fuel level meter. I shut it down and filled up the tank. It sat on the side while I drank a coffee.
    Started it up and pulled away from the fuel station and it was back to normal.

    Seems odd to me. Was hot yesterday, 90°f and I was riding for hours untill I needed fuel.

    Could it have been some kind of heat related glitch?
    #6
  7. kid a

    kid a Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Oddometer:
    116
    Later morning start today, first time I slept in a hotel after 8 camping days and was hard to get up out of bed.

    Let's see what happens with it today. It's my last day and heading home just over 5 hours seat time.
    #7
  8. rick danger

    rick danger The further adventures of

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Oddometer:
    8,239
    Location:
    Oneonta, NY
    Did putting in fuel when the level was low agitate things enough to temporarily clean a spot off the dirty filter bag?
    #8
    Solo Gato likes this.
  9. Saltboxlad

    Saltboxlad Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,323
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Or a tank of shite fuel? Id swap them filters soon as anyway, even if you only go OE style for now, get a set off @gefr
    #9
  10. RCR001

    RCR001 MOTO CHASER Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Oddometer:
    352
    Location:
    Planet Cripton
    I'd put my toonie on FF sounds exactly what i went through with mine.....had a set with me . changed them and all was good.
    #10
  11. Lewilewi

    Lewilewi Ride it like you stole it......

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,926
    Location:
    Europe
    No, it's the ktm fuel gauge glitch..

    DO NOT TRUST THAT GUAGE
    #11
  12. kid a

    kid a Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Oddometer:
    116
    Lunch stop at 2 1/2 hrs and still running fine
    #12
  13. kid a

    kid a Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Oddometer:
    116
    So, last leg home, fuel level at 2 bars it started running the same way again. Stopped, out one gallon of fuel in it and it runs fine.

    So?

    -With 2 bars on the fuel gauge it doesn't like heavy throttle & acceleration, but runs just fine at low throttle inputs and can still motor down the hwy.

    -With anything over 2 bars showing it rings perfectly at all throttle inputs.

    -Is there water in there? Is 2 bars equal to running on fumes (even though I ride 50+ miles with low throttle inputs at that level)?

    -dirty filters that only show signs with fuel tank level at 2 bars?
    #13
  14. KTM 1190advR

    KTM 1190advR Enema of the state Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Oddometer:
    3,052
    Location:
    Somewhere in Norway
    You’d better check that BOTH fuel petcocks are open. You’re actually out of fuel in the left side when there is fuel left in the right side of the tank.
    #14
  15. Saltboxlad

    Saltboxlad Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,323
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Yeah, If they are both open I would close both petcocks fully, pull the hose off one and then open the other up and check your getting good flow, then reverse.
    #15
    KTM 1190advR likes this.
  16. obrianmcc

    obrianmcc Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,179
    Location:
    Boise Idaho
    ... it's the fuel filters. Change the fuel filters.
    #16
  17. 3rdgeargrndrr

    3rdgeargrndrr Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,075
    If you dont have extra filters you can still rinse off the current ones and reuse them
    Fuel filters 99% sure
    #17
  18. Saltboxlad

    Saltboxlad Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,323
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    If you arent sure yet @kid a , seems the general consensus is fuel filters, did you get that? Or is it acc1 connector, no hang on, thats another thread:lol3
    #18
    rick danger likes this.
  19. kid a

    kid a Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Oddometer:
    116
    I'm back home now. Bike runs totally fine as long as there are more than 2 bars showing on the fuel gauge.

    I'm due for the 9000 mile service so I'll dig into it in the next few weeks. Until then I don't have any time it plan to ride it. The fact that I got home without any major roadside repair is a plus. Odd to me that 2 bars of fuel showing means no fuel, or water, or bad filters. I'll order and change the filters during my general service and see how it goes after
    #19
  20. Seachran

    Seachran Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Oddometer:
    64
    Location:
    Plymptonia, MA
    Fuel filter. Just had exact issue on a long trip. Plenty of message board material on it. I took to dealer and they diagnosed a throttle body issue, and made a repair. Less than 50 miles later (on a 750 mile leg of trip home) problem returned. Nursed it home during cooler temps, never letting tank below half, and had no issue. Got near home, purposely letting tank get low and engine temp hot, problem returned. All started in 90-degree temps. Changed filter and all is great.
    #20