1. Adventure Rider Print Magazine!
    We're doing a print magazine this November - 128 pages of high quality adventure riding stories, photography and interviews!

    Click here to purchase a copy for $9. Limited copies still available.
    Dismiss Notice

2020 Tiger 900?

Discussion in 'Triumph Tigers' started by ontheroad68, May 23, 2019.

  1. Cruz

    Cruz Lost but laughing.

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Oddometer:
    13,408
    Location:
    Northside Brisbane, Qld Australia
    Texasten, replaced my worn front Tourance today with a GT823 KH tubeless front and the little hop that I had left has completely gone now. Don't know how a knobby type ADV tyre can run smoother than a Tourance, but it does. Runs smoother than the TKC80s I have been running past 5 years on my Honda.
  2. Riteris

    Riteris Dessert Runner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Oddometer:
    5,523
    Location:
    A place many ADV Riders fear: The Nation's Capital
    Do you guys happen to know if the wheel hop issue affects the GT bikes?
  3. FLYINGBURRITOBROTHER

    FLYINGBURRITOBROTHER Life is too short to not ride...

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Oddometer:
    89
    Location:
    San Diego

    One of the things I did early on was check and set my suspension settings discussed on page 52 of this thread post #1038. Settings that were worked out by a professional rally rider.

    Glad to hear your problem is somewhat better.
  4. 23103a

    23103a not n00b

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Oddometer:
    383
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Lookie what the postman just dropped off :D

    140E0733-7FE4-4924-9CC3-29C1B92F7915.jpeg
    10Fold, PerGrus, Xchemie and 2 others like this.
  5. 23103a

    23103a not n00b

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Oddometer:
    383
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    I did a very short comparison of idle sound, from the OEM to slip-on. Same camera phone, same spot in the garage, etc.




    Also for those wondering where I got it---Cascade Moto Classics in Oregon posted about it so I called them up. It sounded like they had a few in stock..
  6. Texasten

    Texasten Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Oddometer:
    44
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    That is awesome! The new Dunlop Mission tires I put on made no difference. Am going to experiment some more........
  7. Texasten

    Texasten Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Oddometer:
    44
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Thanks for the reference to the suspension setting post!
  8. Airrick

    Airrick Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2019
    Oddometer:
    25
    Location:
    AZ
    I'm taking the bike on an overnight camping trip Wednesday and Thursday. I know it's going to hop the whole way, but I'll still enjoy the trip. New tires are going to be the next thing I try.
  9. Cruz

    Cruz Lost but laughing.

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Oddometer:
    13,408
    Location:
    Northside Brisbane, Qld Australia
    Hmmmm, interesting. It's going to take you quite awhile to wear that front Mission out too. ;)
  10. Ljislink

    Ljislink Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Oddometer:
    45
    Location:
    Oregon
    I'm seriously considering the 900 & going to test ride a a Rally dealer doesn't have a RP. From what I can tell on Triumph web site is the Rally & Rally Pro are exact same bike except, quick shift, 2 added ride modes & range topping tech with some type of app for your phone ? Looks like all the upgrades can be added to the rally except the 2 extra riding modes, anybody here riding the Rally & miss those 2 modes ?
    Thanks
  11. markbvt

    markbvt Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,169
    Location:
    Georgia, Vermont (that's one town, not two states)
    Keep in mind that the front end bounce "no one has solved in 8 years" has been an issue with three different front end setups (nonadjustable Showa forks with tube-type spoked wheel, adjustable WP forks with tube-type spoked wheel, fully adjustable Showa forks with tubeless spoked wheel) -- actually more when you consider that some of the roadies had this issue as well -- plus it affects quite a few bikes from other manufacturers. Nobody can seem to quite put their finger on what causes it.

    So yes, at some point you have to look at the bike as a whole and decide whether it's good enough overall to overcome the annoyance of this one flaw. And then just live with it.

    That said... did you put the Dunlops on yourself, or have a shop mount them? Were they spin balanced or static balanced? First thing I would try would be to pull both wheels off the bike and carefully static balance them -- yes, including the rear, because if it's out of balance, it can show itself in the forks. (For what it's worth, you don't need to have any special setup -- I static balance my wheels by putting the axle through the wheel and on a pair of jack stands.)

    --mark
    PerGrus likes this.
  12. RichardD

    RichardD Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,131
    What other manufacturers had the front end bounce ?
  13. markbvt

    markbvt Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,169
    Location:
    Georgia, Vermont (that's one town, not two states)
    I had a little front end bounce on my 2016 Africa Twin. I've heard of people having it on KTMs, Yamahas, and more.

    --mark
  14. Xchemie

    Xchemie Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2019
    Oddometer:
    41
    Location:
    Chicago
    I have a GT Pro and no front wheel hop. My bike is smooth as butter when riding and the Marzocchi suspension seems good to me.
  15. namaste722

    namaste722 BuddhistBiker Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Oddometer:
    34
    Location:
    WNC
    Some KTM 790 Adventure owners report a similar issue.
  16. snakepilot

    snakepilot Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Oddometer:
    134
    Location:
    Lake Murray, SC
    Same here (GT Pro)
    Xchemie likes this.
  17. TooFastJose

    TooFastJose Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Oddometer:
    24
    Location:
    Spain
    I had it in a KTM 690 enduro
  18. ScottyDog

    ScottyDog Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Oddometer:
    177
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I couldn't get a Pro in my preferred colour when I rode one - and fell in love with it! - even though the dealer was discounting them by a grand for some strange reason (probably worried about what Covid was going to do to sales), so I hunted around for a base Rally. In sunny Queensland, didn't really need the heated seats anyway and not extreme off road to need the extra modes either. Wasn't too impressed with the standard bashplate and engine bars and figured the aftermarket engine protection guys would be on the ball - wrong... Have been waiting ages for a bashplate - hopefully arriving in 2 weeks from SW Motech - and picked up some H&B engine bars so gradually working towards getting on the dirt! In the meantime, doing blacktop on the shitty standard tyres, and haven't even got out of Road mode. And loving it, it's a classy package!
    Ljislink likes this.
  19. offtheback

    offtheback Chocolate Starfish Supporter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Oddometer:
    771
    Location:
    The Christian Vatican, CO
    Bought a rally today and you can add everything you want to make it a Pro. I was told there is no way to a Pro anywhere until middle of next year, I am in NA. Except for the two additional ride modes where the Off road pro totally disabled abs. Hopefully someone will come up with a dongle or workaround to fully disable the ABS. I haven’t ridden it off-road so I really can’t speak to how limited the ABS is in the mode yet. I have seen sites say the Rally doesn’t have TPMS but mine did when they went through the bike with me today.

    I added the quick shift and Bluetooth modules with the hopes of getting some aftermarket protection for the bike soon. Once you add the Bluetooth module you have the same connectivity and control via the app as the pro.

    Does anyone know if there is an open aux port for the aux lights and can any aftermarket lights be used with the handlebar switch? I didn’t get a chance to speak to the service tech but will tomorrow to get and answer also.

    Welcome ‘Colonel’, why did they spec road tires on an ADV bike!?

    IMG_4476.JPG
    MrMac, Xchemie, Ljislink and 2 others like this.
  20. randel

    randel Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Oddometer:
    428
    Location:
    Tallinn, Estonia
    I suspect one of the reasons for using street tires is drive-by noise limits in homologation. Street rubber makes obviously much less noise.