2021 HOOSIER NATIONAL FOREST RIDE (IN)

Discussion in 'Central – From Da Nort Woods to the Plane States' started by RoadDad, Jul 12, 2021.

1. RoadDad

RoadDad n13ub Supporter

Oddometer:
    Time to start thinking about the third weekend in October. October 16 and 17th. Have not decided on anything as of today. Any suggestions will be considered but , remember, i'm a hard headed retired engineer and will do what I darn well please:lol3

You late making camping reservations? Seems that as of 10/03/21 the campsites are sold out. My advice would be to pm one of the dozen inmates that have posted their reserved site number on this post. They may have room on their site for a tent or camper. Scott from Missouri will set a tent on my site.

Decision made--see post #19------------Now for the Tracks

HNF2021 will base camp at West Boggs Park. N38 43.954 W86 54.997 Camping reservations can only be made at www.westboggs.com Cost is either $26 or $34 depending on the site and power level provided (30 or 50 amp). Sites can have a camper and one tent OR two tents and allow up to 6 people. Two vehicles per site. Additional vehicles must pay park entry fee and park in designated parking lots

Tracks are almost finished and will post in early October. Tracks start and end at the campground. The Saturday track is two sections and is about 180 miles long. The Sunday track is in two sections and is about 190 miles long. Both tracks are somewhat longer than last year but have no water crossings to slow you dooooooooooooooown. If the mileage is to great for your day there are points where you can cut out sections to shorten the route--no problem. Just zoom out on the GPS and you will see these points. BEWARE---the tracks cross themselves several times. and you even get to cross Brooks Bridge both days. It would be best to ride with only one track visible at a time. Or you can zoom in very deep to establish the correct path.