2720 dead????

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by kdscoates, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. kdscoates

    kdscoates Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Oddometer:
    3,533
    Location:
    Dahlonega,Ga
    plug it in on the 950 hardwire and she is just dead will not turn on at all!
    I tried pluging in the wall and computer and still nothing! garmin will replace it with a refurb for 100bucks from what I see that is the best deal I can get I have all the accessories ram mount hard wire etc for the 950 and the 640 so I guess the 100bucks for a refurb is a good deal I do like my 2720? any help from the gps guru's would be great!!
    #1
  2. takemeaway

    takemeaway e-veel eyes

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    264
    Location:
    Hotlanta
    Hey kdscoates...I'm not familiar with that model, but does it have an internal battery? Can you try removing it and putting it back? Sometimes my Zumo and the 650 needs a hard reboot. Good luck.
    #2
  3. MoBill

    MoBill Smiles when says dat

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Oddometer:
    14,373
    Location:
    NJ
    I think it's a great deal.

    I run one too, and am pricing them on ebay now, just to have a spare. No wires, just the unit itself in like new but used condition just sold for 76 bucks.

    With "stuff" they'll go as high as 150 or so...I think it's a good deal to refurb.
    #3
  4. kdscoates

    kdscoates Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Oddometer:
    3,533
    Location:
    Dahlonega,Ga
    I have found a 76c I am looking at but I am unsure of the difference in my 2720 and the 76c I mean the size of course but I would also have to rewire the power and buy new ram cradles for both bikes!
    I guess I am asking if I should switch to the 76c and for what reasons?
    thanks for the help!
    #4
  5. MoBill

    MoBill Smiles when says dat

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Oddometer:
    14,373
    Location:
    NJ
    Nothing to offer there--except the cost of new mounts, hassle of new connectors, etc--they're enough to me to try and stick with the 2720.

    Not to mention, while riding up in in Canada there were a 276c and a 60Csx with me riding sweep and I'm the only guy that was getting a signal...could be just my voo doo, but I'm sold on the 2720...been through a lot with it...
    #5
  6. kdscoates

    kdscoates Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Oddometer:
    3,533
    Location:
    Dahlonega,Ga
    I made my decision called garmin and for 99 bucks plus the shipping cost to ship to them I will ahve a new 2720 on the way!
    thanks for all the input but I agree for 100 bucks it was just not worth changing everything!! I like the 2720 and my new will come with all the updates etc that was on my previous unit with a 90 day warranty so I am happy with that and garmin has awesome customer service!!!
    #6
  7. MoBill

    MoBill Smiles when says dat

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Oddometer:
    14,373
    Location:
    NJ
    thumbs up man. Very cool
    #7
  8. anotheroldfart

    anotheroldfart Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Oddometer:
    522
    Location:
    Arizona
    Garmin will sell you a refurnished 2720 exchange with your old one. The 2720 does not have an internal battery.
    #8
  9. dcstrom

    dcstrom Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,563
    Location:
    On the road to South America
    I'm in a similar position - my 2610 is not dead but the image on the screen jumps around. Did you have to send back everything that came with the unit originally? Much of it I didn't use and not sure I could find all the bits and pieces any more (or even know what I'm looking for...).

    I'd be happy to just send the unit, and just get the unit back.

    ***EDIT*** Called Garmin - surprisingly, no wait - and yes they will give me a refurb for $99, just have to send the unit itself, not all the other crap.


    Thanks
    #9