276C Map Updates Needed

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by allonsye, Jan 15, 2013.

  1. allonsye

    allonsye ("lets go!")

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Oddometer:
    970
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    My maps are 7-yrs old on my 276C. I like this unit a lot - don't want a new one. This unit is great for simply knowing where I am at all times and the ease with which to plot a course it provides. But it sure would be nice to have the latest map software loaded up into Mapsource. I've poked around looking here and there - there isn't map updates available from what I can find - looks like not much support available anymore for this puppy.

    Pointing me to a pertinent thread or suggestions for updating it would be greatly appreciated. Maybe someone has some software they'll sell, rent or giveaway?

    Anyone have any luck with expanding the capability of the proprietary 512mb card as well?
    #1
  2. SKINNY

    SKINNY Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Oddometer:
    915
    Location:
    West Texas
    Any of the later version of City Navigator will work. You will need to purchase the map and then register it (on Garmin's site) to the 276 before you can get an unlock code... The various topo maps aren't locked to a specific receiver so they can be purchased and installed without need for an unlock code.
    #2
  3. allonsye

    allonsye ("lets go!")

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Oddometer:
    970
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    Maybe I wasn't on the right page but a glance at the Garmin site a few days ago and the City Navigator wasn't available nor the topos. Will the topo have the streets on it as well?
    #3
  4. SKINNY

    SKINNY Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Oddometer:
    915
    Location:
    West Texas
    #4
  5. Throttlemeister

    Throttlemeister Long timer Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,543
    Location:
    Okie near Muskogee
    There is a Russian or somebody from over there selling 1or2 GB memory card upgrades. You will have to do a little thread searching...
    Vendors I think is where there is a sales thread.
    #5
  6. allonsye

    allonsye ("lets go!")

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Oddometer:
    970
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    Right, thanks. I tried to do the download and it would not recognize the 276 series so wouldn't let me follow through. I'll order the cd/dvd i guess.
    #6
  7. 9Dave

    9Dave Bazinga!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Oddometer:
    13,560
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    The 276c takes the City Navigator NT map data. And downloading map data requires a Garmin plug-in app on your computer. It should automatically download when you attempt a purchase.

    And there is a guy who is selling larger memory chips for the 276. There is a thread in the forum where some other folks have shared their experiences.
    #7
  8. allonsye

    allonsye ("lets go!")

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Oddometer:
    970
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    Appreciate the good feedback Dave. I'll check it out.
    #8
  9. Ditch

    Ditch Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    1,749
    Location:
    abq,nm
    I did the 2gig update from this guy http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=762001&highlight=garmin
    works fine.
    You have to sacrifice a memory card to install the new memory board into so try to find an older small one (64 or so).
    It took about two weeks to recieve the new board.
    Do a search, someone has some pictures of the install process, very easy.
    #9
  10. allonsye

    allonsye ("lets go!")

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Oddometer:
    970
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    Noted. Thx for posting Wendell.
    #10