3 States, 3 Days on a 20-Year-Old VFR

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Day Trippin'' started by zer0focus, Jun 7, 2018.

1. zer0focus

zer0focus No Fixed Direction Supporter

Oddometer:
    I may have made a mistake; it has yet to be determined. I sold my 2013 Honda CB500X last week in search of replacing it with a 5th generation VFR. Why, you may ask, would anyone consider that a mistake? The VFR, especially the fifth generation with its gear-driven cams and no VTEC, does have a cult-like following, after all. Well, I am relatively new to riding (a little over a year).

Unlike many of my fellow inmates, I didn’t grow up on two wheels. In fact, I had only ridden a bicycle before I took my MSF course in early 2017. My CB500X served me well; it was nimble, light, and smooth. After regularly riding another bike in the “stable,” a 1995 BMW R1100GS, I seriously came to appreciate how lightweight my Honda actually was. So, why sell? The issue came down to speed. While riding with my partner, it was difficult to keep up with him as he passed cars over the broken double yellow, even if I dropped a gear. The bike also struggled to keep up with the Colorado highway speeds (most people drive 80-85 mph here, and I didn’t want to be put-putting along at a comfortable 65). I wanted a bike with more power, but I also needed something that was built for longer trips (canyon carving in the mountains always seems to end up being a 5-6-hour excursion). After a sickening amount of research, the VFR seemed like my best bet.