300 Miles off road with a 1290 and a GSA..some impressions

Discussion in 'Hard. Core. (1090/1190/1290)' started by sflash868, Jan 31, 2016.

1. sflash868

sflash868 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    So i'm pretty new to the KTM world as I purchased my 1290 a few months ago after putting 60K miles on my old GS. I noticed in the forums a lot of people ask about the off road ability of the 1290, especially compared to a GSA, so I thought I'd put together a half ride report and have review of the two bikes and hopefully answer some questions along the way. Total ride was 2100 miles with about 300 of that being in the dirt. Route was San Francisco-SLO-Palm Desert- Joshua Tree- Mojave trail- Lake Meade- 2 days bouncing around Death Valley. The bulk of the off road was the Mojave trail which was mainly sand, and Death Valley & Lippincott pass which was mainly washboard and rock crawling. The GSA on the trip is a 2012 so not a totally fair comparison to the KTM but it has all the ride modes and the usual farkles.
    Some pics of the bikes:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    About the 1290:
    The bike was completely stock except for TKC 80s and an SW-Motech skid plate. I used the stock panniers. Amazingly, despite some extremely close calls in the sand, I never dropped the bike so I can't speak to how fragile anything is but in general I found the off road ability of the bike to be fantastic. I should also note that i'm a very big guy and my experience wrestling the bike in the sand is probably easier than someone who is shorter or has a smaller frame. For example, getting the bike out of this provided a distinct advantage to my 6'4 frame:

Offroad: