1. Trailryder42

    Trailryder42 Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,154
    Location:
    Amarillo, Texas
    Mapsource Topo doesn't autoroute, in the unit or when building routes on the computer. City Nav would be the ticket if you want that capability. Roads and Rec can be had from someone that's already got it, tho it doesn't autoroute either.
    #61
  2. Jeff@TheQuadShop

    Jeff@TheQuadShop TAT survivor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Oddometer:
    7,476
    Location:
    Crestwood, Kentucky
    You don't want to use auto route anyway, it only causes problems once your out on the trail.
    #62
  3. alpiv

    alpiv Sr. nOOb

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Oddometer:
    2,183
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Create tracks......
    Its a pain and not as easy as routes, yet they work just as good.
    #63
  4. leahyz

    leahyz Gigantic Tool

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Oddometer:
    472
    Location:
    The Sucky Part of IN
    But not all GPSs support tracks. The 2610s for instance do not.

    If you make your route with enough via points, it will go the right place. Not much other choice on a 2610. Worked very well for me.
    #64
  5. wildman2154

    wildman2154 n00b

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9
    Location:
    Pasadena, Maryland
    I bought the TomTom One XL.S
    We are planning to do the TAT on the last week in May and first week in June.
    Next week I am buying the charts and maps from Sam.

    I am using a mac G5 computer and want to set gps tracks or way-points.
    So far I don't know how to do this. I have plugged the TomTom into my computer. Been to the TomTom site. But really not doing anything like tracks or way-points.

    I haven't heard about anyone using the TomTom on this ADVrider site.
    Should I get a 2610 off ebay for this trip?:jjen

    Thanks in advance for your help.
    #65
  6. Jeff@TheQuadShop

    Jeff@TheQuadShop TAT survivor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Oddometer:
    7,476
    Location:
    Crestwood, Kentucky
    I haven't used the TomTom but from what I understand its pretty useless unless your just punching in address'. I don't think it will even load tracks.
    #66
  7. spidennis

    spidennis SandStorm Adventures

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,276
    Location:
    South Padre Island, Texas .... far from anything
    you should look into edgegps if you want a 2610 btw ......

    I don't know if the 2610 is the right machine for the TAT, I got one but, that was before I knew what I was getting into. Everyone says use tracks, but the 2610 doesn't do tracks,

    anyway, I went and entered all, and I mean all the waypoints for AR, MS, and TN, (which took forever!) then went into bobcat and put in more vias to make sure the (auto)routing would keep me on the desired path. I still have TN and AR to do in bobcat, and I hadn't yet loaded my routes into the 2610 to see if it actually will work.

    Since I haven't actually done a trip with the 2610 in TAT style I can't really give a yes or a no about it, but I got one and am going to make it work.

    On a recent car trip following the texas gulf coast via little roads I found the voice commands a very useful tool, and since I hardly ever look down at my gps on the bike I've decided to put a headphone into my helmet and use the voice commands to guide me, along with the maps of course. Since I'm going backwards on the TAT the roll charts are useless ....

    So, I've ordered the audio cable and going to wire that into my gps setup .... should have that any day now ..... and a photo documentated report is to follow, as usual.

    [​IMG]
    #67
  8. Brent4ADV

    Brent4ADV Enjoying empty roads...

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,006
    Location:
    B'ham, AL
    I've entered the whole TAT into Bobcat using waypoints but I will either us a PC to make tracks or use Bobcat (the next version should have a track tool) and convert my waypoints to tracks. The 60csx works great with tracks and I can clearly see where I am going.
    #68
  9. dirty_sanchez

    dirty_sanchez Dirty_Sanchez

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Oddometer:
    3,972
    Location:
    Louisiana, Baton Rouge
    Don't ask me how I know, but if you use a grand total of more than 25 waypoints and vias, the 60cs(x) gets it all wrong and won't auto route giving turn by turn directionnes.

    I wound up breaking up the AR section in to AM and PM routes-each with less than a grand total of 24 waypoints and vias (to force the route).

    Word of wisdom....Please don't discover this on a rainy Saturday morning when 3 other guys are depending on you and your GPS Computater for navigation at the first turn.

    Dirty
    #69
  10. 10Cup

    10Cup Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,700
    Location:
    NW Arkansas
    You guys that are having trouble with the number of flags can easily solve this by "unflagging" your route. I easily put all the TAT routes into my Zumo 550 and then just unflagged them, works better than tracks in my opinion.
    #70
  11. TRZ Charlie

    TRZ Charlie That's MR. Asshole

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Oddometer:
    20,408
    Location:
    Fayetteville, AR
    Who is it that you guys are sending your $28 too for the tracks? Does he provide a link for download or send you a CD, or just a listing of coordinates?

    Thanks in advance.
    #71
  12. Trailryder42

    Trailryder42 Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,154
    Location:
    Amarillo, Texas
    #72
  13. TRZ Charlie

    TRZ Charlie That's MR. Asshole

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Oddometer:
    20,408
    Location:
    Fayetteville, AR
    Thanks
    #73
  14. irishdec

    irishdec Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Oddometer:
    746
    Location:
    Toronto ,Canada
    I Did'nt think of it that way,that Sam would lose the money he deserves for making this map,,,I am going to buy his maps,,,,,but I did ask a fellow member recently,here on ADV, if he took any gps points when he did the route,,,,and for that I say 'sorry'to Sam,there was no deceit intended.
    :freaky




    #74
  15. Nata Harli

    Nata Harli Accidental Tourista

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Oddometer:
    2,565
    Location:
    Kansas City, MISSOURI
    Based on the recommendations here I went out to find a copy of "Roads & Rec" only to find it has been discontinued.
    1. Does anyone know where I can find a legal copy? (There are currently 2 on fleabay. Any other sources?)
    2. WTF was Garmin thinking in discontinuing this product?
    Thanks.

    Edit: I found Roads & Rec locally so that problem is solved. Still can't understand why they discontinued it, though.
    #75
  16. usedtobefast

    usedtobefast Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Oddometer:
    217
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Check out a program called tyre http://www.janboersma.nl/gett/index.php

    A friend of mine has a Tom Tom and is using it to do our TAT routing.

    He produces GPX files, I pull those into MapSource, and recalculate the route.

    I looked at using WinGDB to turn that route into a track but I haven't got that figured out yet. (If the route had 15 way points, WinGDB just draws straight track lines between those 15 points, not good).

    But Tyre is really nice ... uses Google Maps ... I've used it for a few trips to do routes that I ended up putting on my Garmin.
    #76
  17. Zecatfish

    Zecatfish XTique Rider

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Oddometer:
    7,928
    Location:
    Arkansas USA
    See my page in my signature on using Google Earth to layout tracks for your GPS. then you won't need Rec and Streets. :evil
    #77
  18. Duende

    Duende Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Oddometer:
    25
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    If you recalculate the route in MapSource you will get more then 15 routepoints. If you then convert that route with WinGDB option 5 or 6 you will get a perfect track.

    Edward
    Originator of WinGDB3 ( http://www.sackman.nl )
    #78
  19. joenuclear

    joenuclear Still here....

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Oddometer:
    10,182
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Arkansas
    Edward,

    The page doesn't load for me. Perhaps you could walk us through the process?
    #79
  20. Trailryder42

    Trailryder42 Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,154
    Location:
    Amarillo, Texas
    #80