390 Adventure owners thread

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by inroads, Jun 11, 2020.

  1. Downhill Rider

    Downhill Rider Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Oddometer:
    151
    Location:
    N. WI / S. AZ
    Indeed I did. They had one left in a crate that they assembled for me on Wednesday.
    Being my first ever foray into KTM, I had never heard of them before, but apparently they are the fourth largest KTM Dealer in the Country. From my initial interaction, they seem like good folks to work with.

    There’s no shortage of deep sand to be found in Northern Wisconsin!
  2. TwilightZone

    TwilightZone Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Oddometer:
    10,962
    Location:
    Behind the Redwood Curtain
    No cush hub on rear.
    21" and 18" wheels. May not be enough clearance on the 390.
    Appears that the front wheel rim is bent.
    Brakes... I dunno if they will fit.
    MotoSly likes this.
  3. MotoSly

    MotoSly Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2019
    Oddometer:
    153
    Location:
    East Flanders, Belgium
    Ok thnx! Not going to take the risk!
  4. snowhawk jockey

    snowhawk jockey Slack Jaw Gaper

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,561
    Location:
    The other Center of the Universe: Bend, Oregon
    Motosly, if you could fit up the wheels and verify that axles and spacers aligned the brake rotors and sprocket, there would be less concern about the gamble. Without that basic fitment, not worth the gamble, bent rim or not.
    Slipper clutch would work more, without a cushion drive rear hub, but that is a smaller issue than fitment.
    MotoSly likes this.
  5. HLR4

    HLR4 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2020
    Oddometer:
    118
    Location:
    PH
    this is also the extent of my knowledge on the matter. what if i swap out the caliper bracket for the 790 ones? will it fit the 390A fork?
    MotoSly likes this.
  6. Unhingedlizard

    Unhingedlizard Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,520
    Location:
    Wellington
    The non R version has the same 43mm fork. Could be a goer.

    Wonder whats the gain after going to all this effort though?
    MotoSly likes this.
  7. HLR4

    HLR4 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2020
    Oddometer:
    118
    Location:
    PH
    i reckon brake bite will be better? im looking for stronger brakes akin to much bigger road bikes, for on-road use.
  8. Unhingedlizard

    Unhingedlizard Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,520
    Location:
    Wellington
    Fair enough. Just wonder if its not gonna yield much gain due to the 790 having a twin brake set up.

    There's an idea. If the 790 has the same 43mm forks the whole front end might slot into the 390s triple clamp.....
    MotoSly likes this.
  9. 0405canvet

    0405canvet Long timer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,738
    Location:
    brisbanish
    Hey, has anyone replaced their rear shock? Or know of any alternative shocks that would work??
  10. BigCanoe

    BigCanoe Long timer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,347
    Location:
    Located in Moncure, NC
    I am getting close to my first oil change. Should I buy the KTM Duke 390 oil change kit that comes with filters, o-rings, and oil? Or can I just buy oil (what weight, quantity and brand?) and reuse those parts?
  11. TwilightZone

    TwilightZone Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Oddometer:
    10,962
    Location:
    Behind the Redwood Curtain
    You can re-use the filter screens (but of course, not the paper oil filter.)
    Blow out the screens with WD40 and if you've got it an air compressor.
    Screens will work lots of times before the o-rings wear out.

    $3.99

    [​IMG]

    https://www.rockymountainatvmc.com/parts/hiflo-premium-oil-filter-p?v=17314

    Might need some crush washers too.

    [​IMG]

    Otherwise... Just buy the filter/kit... with no oil. $21

    https://www.rockymountainatvmc.com/parts/ktm-oil-filter-service-kit-p

    [​IMG]

    And then this... $57. Will last for about 3 oil changes.

    https://www.amazon.com/Motorex-Powe...=1&keywords=motorex+oil&qid=1626707268&sr=8-1

    [​IMG]
    torang and LC.Kevo like this.
  12. LC.Kevo

    LC.Kevo Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Oddometer:
    95
    Location:
    Lake Country, BC
    I just changed mine last week, ended up purchasing the K&N oil filter instead from my local Lordco parts store; P/N: KN-155, just FYI.

    Any good quality 15W50 full synthetic will do the trick (I use Amsoil metric); and you can just clean and re-use the screens as Twilight mentioned.
    MotoSly likes this.
  13. BigCanoe

    BigCanoe Long timer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,347
    Location:
    Located in Moncure, NC
    Thanks guys, very helpful!
  14. FloppyArmadillo

    FloppyArmadillo Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2021
    Oddometer:
    17
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Anyone able to take pictures of their clutch cable routing while using rox risers? I re routed it behind the forks, but with routing it over the stock handguards, at full lock to the right the cables too short and pulls the clutch in. Makes me think I need a longer cable but others seem successful with the stock cable, maybe I'm routing something incorrectly.
  15. LC.Kevo

    LC.Kevo Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Oddometer:
    95
    Location:
    Lake Country, BC
    I routed mine the same way, and ended up moving the clutch mounting clamp inboard about 1/2" to avoid this problem. The cable rubs on the hand guard clamp screw however so I'm just replacing with a longer cable now.
    IMG_2905.JPG IMG_2906.JPG IMG_2885[1].JPG
    MotoSly and FloppyArmadillo like this.
  16. FloppyArmadillo

    FloppyArmadillo Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2021
    Oddometer:
    17
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Cheers, I think I'll look into a new cable. Wonder if replacing the handgaurds with true barkbusters would give a little more slack.
  17. LC.Kevo

    LC.Kevo Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Oddometer:
    95
    Location:
    Lake Country, BC
    Good question; I've got BB Storm's on order, should have them in a week or two. Will most likely wait until fall to install them however.
  18. dwighop

    dwighop Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Oddometer:
    164
    Location:
    Inverness FL
    I was not so lucky. Still has the hum at 4500 rpm
  19. TwilightZone

    TwilightZone Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Oddometer:
    10,962
    Location:
    Behind the Redwood Curtain
    New cable was cheap. In fact, the cheapest mod I've made to the bike.
    FloppyArmadillo likes this.
  20. bikemoto

    bikemoto Tyre critic

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Oddometer:
    5,044
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Same series forks but the upper outers are different diameter. The 790 ones match the 790R. The 390 ones are narrower.

    There’s a lot going on there. It’s likely the 790 axle holder will fit on the 390 lower tubes (they just screw in) or use the whole lower tube with holder, but the axle is different. Can you just change the bearings? Sleeve the axle? Is the brake disc the correct diameter for the 790 caliper?

    Would it be easier to fit a larger disc and space out the OEM caliper? Find a better caliper with the same mounts? Change to better pads? Better same-size disc?
    MotoSly and Unhingedlizard like this.