590 lm vs. 595 lm ?

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by Silverbird, Feb 29, 2016.

  1. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    I called and talked to Trail Tech about the new unit. One thing of note regarding the Voyager Pro, it does mapping, but no spoken commands at all, so even though they say it supports routes and tracks, it actually treats them both like tracks. It's just a line to follow on the screen, so if going this route, you'll want your phone setup on the bike for on road routing.
  2. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,288
    Location:
    alabama
    That's too bad.
  3. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    Yep, I would guess future firmware versions could add that functionality though. On the bright side of things the guy I spoke to was pretty certain that the user could adjust the color and line weight of the tracks in the latest version of the firmware. Supposedly pre-ordered units start shipping April 1st. Probably not the best date to pick, but if they miss it, they can just say April Fools.
    ohgood likes this.
  4. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    The more I think about this and research it, the more I think an ipad mini could be the hot ticket, or maybe the Samsung 8" rugged tablet.
  5. dnrobertson

    dnrobertson Big Bike, Slow Rider

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,362
    Location:
    Frankston, Australia
    There are plenty of resources on advrider on Android devices being used.

    If you can't find them, @ohgood would be more than happy to provide a few links.

    I have a 590 (and a 550 before that) and am happy with it (but I don't listen to music or take phone calls), but as time goes by, I think my next navigation device WILL NOT be a dedicated GPS.
  6. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    I just ordered a case and mount for an ipad mini 4 so I can start prototyping the setup on my 1190 R.
    dnrobertson likes this.
  7. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    Yes, I’ve been doing some reading. Good amount of iPad info as well. None of the iPad installs I’ve seen are as sorted as I would like, so I’ve ordered some stuff to get started prototyping my setup. Fortunately I have a mill so it makes it easier to fab up specialty parts.

    I do have some concerns though as to whether or not an iPad will be able to handle being on all day in 100 + degree ambient air temps and with the sun beating on it.
  8. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    Sooo, here's what I've been up to. You can see more here.

    IMG_1290.jpg
    F650Dakar_Norway, XICAQUE and ohgood like this.
  9. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,288
    Location:
    alabama
    Make she it gets air flow.
  10. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    I’m hoping heat isn’t going to be an issue, but we’ll see. Almost bought silver to get the white bezel in hopes of limiting thermal gain, but just couldn’t do it. I will be working on a sun shade of some sort.

    I’ve never had an issue with my phone mounted is this same area, so hoping the iPad isn’t any more sensitive to the heat. Time will tell.
    ohgood likes this.
  11. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,288
    Location:
    alabama
    I've only seen overheating issues with cases, never with phones in the open. Of course, if there were a rugged tablet that didn't need a case, that would be best.
  12. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    Yes, I really wanted to buy the Samsung Active Tab2, but the cellular doesn't work in the US, it's and international model only at the present. Hoping some active tab or another hits the US market soon.

    My phones have always been in rugged cases, but still no issues.
  13. zozoka

    zozoka n00b

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Oddometer:
    3
    Location:
    Ciuc
  14. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,288
    Location:
    alabama

    international normally had ALL bands of cellular. but you don't need cellular for gps functions.
  15. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    I checked the bands on the Samsung site, unfortunately no compatibility with Verizon. Yes I know, but having data on your nav device is really nice on long trip. I could have used my phone as a hotspot, but it’s more convenient and battery efficient to have data in the tablet. All that said, I haven’t turned on data in my mini yet, but I will for trips.
    ohgood likes this.
  16. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,288
    Location:
    alabama

    OK, just making sure
  17. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    I really hope they do bring the active tab2 to the US. With rumors of the mini going away, would be nic to have another option that is weather sealed.
    ohgood likes this.
  18. zozoka

    zozoka n00b

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Oddometer:
    3
    Location:
    Ciuc
  19. BBohemian

    BBohemian Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Oddometer:
    84
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    Anyone in the US done the firmware upgrade and changed their 590 to 595?
  20. kingoffat

    kingoffat Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Oddometer:
    404
    Location:
    Dublin
    Am I taken this up wrong but he talks about turning off you 595 and then placing the 595 at the window.
    So do you need a 595 to do this?


    Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk