640 Carb Parts And Bogging

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by rob748, Jun 8, 2006.

  1. rjf

    rjf SBS's #1 fan in January

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Oddometer:
    4,378
    Location:
    Gosford, NSW, Aust. Scrambler, 640Adv, 300EXC
    #21
  2. Zerodog

    Zerodog Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,233
    Location:
    SLC, UT
    I checked out that link. That looks cool. I like all of the SUVs.

    Kopromayor check your float height. That is the most likely problem. But I think the best fix for you would be the FCR. They don't have any of the bogging issues. But the float height fix on your BST might make it liveable. It sounds to me that they
    1. Come from the factory with the wrong height.
    2. Migrate over time with bouncing and vibration and the level slowly increases until it is a problem.
    My float was about 1/4" off. That is A LOT! It was most likely set wrong by someone at some point but ???
    #22
  3. meat popsicle

    meat popsicle Ignostic

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    14,568
    Location:
    Circumlocution Office of Little Dorrit
    Is this the one?
    [​IMG]
    Throwing up hands in disgust... WTF is wrong with this thing?!? :arg

    :D Naw that looks like an SXC, which comes with a pumper. I saw a couple of Adventures - you on the 2000 (blue and orange) or 2001/2 (silver)?

    I would move Option 2 to Option 1. Pull the carb and do the maintenance; make sure it is setup properly. All the links to float height and carb tuning you should want in the index... I hope.

    If you cannot setup the carb properly then by all means switch to an FCR. Just realize that you will be installing a performance carb, so you will need to improve throttle control and you may loose some tank range and altitude flexibility.

    Performing the maintenance isn't so hard, just order the parts and use the wait time for aimlessly surfing the net. Then when they show up DON'T DISAPPOINT THEM! :lol3
    #23
  4. Kopromayor

    Kopromayor kopromayor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    250
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Thank you guys.
    Unfortunately as I said I was opening the second day stage (7:30 am) when the BST gut me F@&ked up and the photographer wasn't around yet.
    Thank you again.
    Tomorrow morning I am taking the carb out for a first look.
    This from the 165km of day 1:clap:clap:clap:freaky:rofl:D:D:D
    #24
  5. Kopromayor

    Kopromayor kopromayor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    250
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Sorry
    #25
  6. Kopromayor

    Kopromayor kopromayor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    250
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    this is today:cry:cry:cry
    #26
  7. Kopromayor

    Kopromayor kopromayor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    250
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    sorry again :eek1
    Maybe I shoudn't mess with the carb :asshat
    #27
  8. meat popsicle

    meat popsicle Ignostic

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    14,568
    Location:
    Circumlocution Office of Little Dorrit
    ooooooh, naked bike porn :tb

    Don't worry Arch, I don't see any nips or bush.
    #28
  9. Kopromayor

    Kopromayor kopromayor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    250
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Well
    After the strip:evil and the BST cleaning I went for test
    The good news are that I rode the bike with the small tank 12l and the big one 20l and nothing happened.
    I nearly make my shelf Pastrana to test the behaviour after jumps and nothing wrong.
    The bad thing about don't find anything wrong is that you don't know shit
    Probably it was the dirt that I found in the carb (I hope):dunno
    In order not to have any more of this shit I put a small hand made filter in the vent of the carb. Not as good as Creeper's but I thing it will do.
    We will see.
    Thank you for the info:bow
    See you around
    #29
  10. Mucckki

    Mucckki n00b

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1
    Location:
    Orange, CA
    Hope this is the right place to ask this question.
    I am looking for a TPS for an 06 Adv or alternatively would appreciate it if some one could measure the resistance by open and closed throttle so tyhat I can find out if mine is kaput!
    Basically I cannot adjust the thing to meet the voltage figures in the repair manual.
    thanks for help
    Michael
    #30
  11. Tseta

    Tseta Lost

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Oddometer:
    760
    Location:
    On the road
    Welcome to ADVrider!

    Interesting question, for sure. Unfortunately it seems that the TPS is not available separately through KTM, so if you find that yours is broken, you'd need a second-hand source for the part.

    How are you measuring the voltage from the TPS? What adjustment are you able to make?

    Some people choose to run their bikes with the TPS unplugged. It seems to have no ill effect. Here are a few related threads to help you find out more:

    http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=531994
    http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=374021

    That's all I've got, sorry. Maybe some of the gurus here will have more knowledge on this.

    Cheers,

    Tseta
    #31
  12. meat popsicle

    meat popsicle Ignostic

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    14,568
    Location:
    Circumlocution Office of Little Dorrit
    Oi,

    creeper measured TPS for his FCR installation here:
    http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206427
    his comments are very useful even if he does not give you the exact info you ask for here.

    Derek at MotoLab might have some parts for you:
    http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=528038
    he is the only one I know of sourcing BST parts.

    All this and more in the 640 index:
    http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=86958
    :beer
    #32