6ish month Europe stay, shipping vs buying bike

Discussion in 'Trip Planning' started by road_runner87, Sep 13, 2020.

1. road_runner87

road_runner87 n00b

Oddometer:
    Hey all,

I've been a lurker for a while, and am suddenly finding myself with a million questions, and having a hard time finding concrete answers, and anecdotes from people who have done it.

I'm currently living in Vancouver, BC (from Denmark), and given the current environment with COVID, as well the freedoms I have work-wise (I'm a software developer), I am seriously considering heading across the pond to set up camp in Portugal come Jan/Feb for 6ish months. Why not, right? :D

Now the thing, I most definitely want to have access to a motorcycle. I currently ride a 2017 Ducati Scrambler Desert Sled, which I love, and would love to bring with me. I've seen Air Canada allows for motorcycle transport for roughly ~$1200 one way, which really isn't much of a deterrent. My questions really end up in the realm of:

- Insurance
    - Other costs such as registration, getting Portuguese plates, etc? I get I can probably ride on Canadian plates, however, a part of me feels that would bring more attention than I'd want. Thinking theft here. Thoughts?
    - Am I better off buying a used bike there? Cost wise and such? Being there short-term, I was wanting to really just stay as a tourist, without the need to declare myself living there. So I'd guess it could make this difficult?
    - I am financing the bike in Vancouver, have 2 years left, any complications regarding that?

Those are my initial thoughts and questions. No doubt more will come up as I get some answers. Thanks everyone!
  2. severely

severely almost a noob

Oddometer: