790 Adventure Decat/Tune Results

Discussion in 'Parallel World (790/890)' started by turbofan790, Nov 5, 2019.

  1. ramirin

    ramirin Ready to push

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Oddometer:
    623
    Location:
    FIN
    Anyway you like it..
    Screenshot_99.jpg
    from pcv manual

    I suppose switch rally-eco or potentiometer for rally 0-100% would be possible
    TrailTrauma likes this.
  2. turbofan790

    turbofan790 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Oddometer:
    186
    Location:
    Southern California
    An added note: Cruise control doesn't work with the check engine light on. Just got my cruise control installed last weekend (finally... worked it out as part of the deal with buying the bike... took 6 months to get it done)... still doesn't work, dealer says it's because O2s are unplugged so cruise is disabled.

    Looks like autotune is in my future.
  3. ramirin

    ramirin Ready to push

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Oddometer:
    623
    Location:
    FIN
    But stock O2 sensors are disconnected also with autotune and it uses wideband O2 connected to PCV? With stock sensors connected they would just fight each other..
  4. turbofan790

    turbofan790 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Oddometer:
    186
    Location:
    Southern California
    That's correct, and that's how it works on a 790 with Autotune. Essentially the OEM ECU is constantly fighting with autotune, but since the O2's are plugged in and working, no CEL.
  5. ramirin

    ramirin Ready to push

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Oddometer:
    623
    Location:
    FIN
    Will it still be able to make optimal mapping?

    I wonder can it be so sophisticated system that no-one has figured how to make a dongle to force it stay on open loop.
  6. turbofan790

    turbofan790 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Oddometer:
    186
    Location:
    Southern California
    Seems to work great for the guys who are running it so far.
  7. TrailTrauma

    TrailTrauma Nemophilist

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Oddometer:
    4,687
    Location:
    Ontario .. Superior
    The impediment may be the fact that we have tuners on the job .. where what we may need is a tune/geek/hacker mind. That's who I'd put my money on. Sometimes it's not so much the problem, but the type of mind looking at the problem, which reveals the solution.
  8. SoilSampleDave

    SoilSampleDave Dr. Zaius was right!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Oddometer:
    9,145
    Location:
    The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
    If it was up to me, I’d start with a Bimota V-Due 500cc 2 stroke motor and build a dual sport motorcycle around it. How’s that?
  9. TrailTrauma

    TrailTrauma Nemophilist

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Oddometer:
    4,687
    Location:
    Ontario .. Superior
    My son texted me this several yrs ago, after I got my 300...

    Maico 700 Suicide.jpeg
    Toddv, Salzig, Fabricator and 4 others like this.
  10. ramirin

    ramirin Ready to push

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Oddometer:
    623
    Location:
    FIN
    We should pass a note to dark side of web that Bosch bragged that no-one can break their ultra robust system. 2 min later you can download the code from Bosch frontpage to overwrite the whole ecu :choppa
    TrailTrauma likes this.
  11. ramirin

    ramirin Ready to push

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Oddometer:
    623
    Location:
    FIN
    Anyone here?
  12. turbofan790

    turbofan790 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Oddometer:
    186
    Location:
    Southern California
    Rottweiler's shop bike, and Nowwhat who has posted in this thread are the main two I'm thinking of
  13. Mikkoyli

    Mikkoyli Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Oddometer:
    30
    Location:
    Northern Finland
    I doubt that it could be possible to have both Autotune and OEM lambdas connected. They would fight against each others. Original system is not accepting dongles as they would send constant voltage. Probably it could work if dongle would send fake variating signal. Or what about AF-Xied which I had in a BMW R 1200 GS LC. It changed lambda signal from real to show leaner and that resulted to richer map when in closed loop. AF-Xied had a potentiometer 6-11 scale and I think I used position 7 or 8.
  14. Nowwhat

    Nowwhat I'll Go Second... Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Oddometer:
    8,277
    Location:
    On the Ground Laughing
    What did I miss?

    Rode 400 miles of desert this weekend...a ton of sand....bike ran strong but more importantly it ran cool...
  15. turbofan790

    turbofan790 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Oddometer:
    186
    Location:
    Southern California
    Once again, it works, and quite well, as Nowwhat can attest.
  16. kubcat

    kubcat Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Oddometer:
    593
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    But WITH the CEL on, correct? That means no CC, which is unacceptable. It seems like we will have to wait until someone hacks the ecu closed-loop logic with tailored code running on a replacement ECU, or a piggyback that intercepts all the relevant signals in both directions.
  17. turbofan790

    turbofan790 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Oddometer:
    186
    Location:
    Southern California
    No. Nowwhat has the autotune module which allows plugging the stock O2 sensors back in, NO CEL.

    The only situation that results in CEL is the open loop tune WITHOUT autotune which requires unplugging the stock O2s.
  18. ramirin

    ramirin Ready to push

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Oddometer:
    623
    Location:
    FIN
    Can you please describe your setup in detail. I thought you are running without stock O2 (have the pc wideband instead) and have engine light on - am I correct?
    Do you have cruise control?
  19. Mikkoyli

    Mikkoyli Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Oddometer:
    30
    Location:
    Northern Finland
  20. turbofan790

    turbofan790 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Oddometer:
    186
    Location:
    Southern California
    ... did you miss what I wrote? I just said he has the autotune module with the extra O2 installed along with OEM O2s. No CEL.