790 Adventure Quickshifter - Yes or No?

Discussion in 'Parallel World (790/890)' started by CalamariKid, Dec 14, 2019.

  1. Thumper Dumper

    Thumper Dumper Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Oddometer:
    538
    Location:
    Durban South Africa
    Love it on and off road. Never had it turned of. I also have a Rekluse and they work well together. :-)
    #21
  2. Thumper Dumper

    Thumper Dumper Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Oddometer:
    538
    Location:
    Durban South Africa
    Yes. Hardly need to use the clutch, only when you want to. Never stalls.
    #22
    8lives and SirWreckaLot like this.
  3. braaap!

    braaap! Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Oddometer:
    5,617
    Location:
    Melbourne - AU
    Sorry to prick your Noob-ness buddy... But opinions are like arseholes...

    Especially NooBs
    #23
    natedog39 likes this.
  4. braaap!

    braaap! Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Oddometer:
    5,617
    Location:
    Melbourne - AU
    You most certainly haven’t offended me... Your naivety and sense of right has played you.
    Everyone has a right to an opinion... but your’s is shallow given your time here.


    ‘Useless features’... Mirror, mirror on the wall ;)
    #24
    kzeb and natedog39 like this.
  5. EvilSteve

    EvilSteve Not so evil, not so Steve. Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,194
    Location:
    SLC
    Isn't the internet fun?
    #25
  6. Toddv

    Toddv Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,362
    Location:
    SC
    Right, we should get rid of everything fun and/or helpful if it's deemed unnecessary.
    #26
  7. blackSP

    blackSP Im 'in orbita ponendum simulat

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,165
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    I just added the QS+ and CC to my order this morning. I though, what the heck, go for it!
    #27
    Venturer, Thumper Dumper and Toddv like this.
  8. kubcat

    kubcat Riding is Eudaemonic Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Oddometer:
    2,618
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    In the immortal words of the Bard, methinks though doth protest too much
    The consensus is that you are being a thin skinned crybaby. @braaap! even made sure to point out in his initial response he was just taking the piss out of you. I assume you know what that means and you had a temper tantrum anyway. If you don't know what that means, my apologies to you for having led such a sheltered life.

    You obviously don't have what it takes to ride with us if you can't even take a good ribbing. I bet you ride solo, don't you?
    #28
    kzeb, 1coolbanana and braaap! like this.
  9. windblown101

    windblown101 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    8,789
    Location:
    Star Tannery, VA
    It's not a useless feature, a mere gimmick, or a waste of money, at least certainly not as a blanket statement. I could call anything over 50hp useless, or 6+ inches of suspension travel useless, or passenger pages useless but even if I did feel that way it wouldn't make it a universal truth. Besides... the QS+ is free (well, included in the purchase price). I don't know of a single person that actually tried the QS+ that found it not working straight from the factory. The few people I've seen mention that it's not enabled from the factory seem to have also not tried it before paying for the menu option... Only the ability to turn it on and off from the menu cost extra from what I've seen.

    I found the QS+ both functional and fun to play with in the twisties, especially for downshifts coming into corners. Necessary? Heck no, but then again I don't own bikes out of necessity, it's all about what I like or don't like. The nature of how it functions caused me an occasional unintentional shift when my boot touched the shifter so I disabled it and haven't looked back, *shrug*.

    Given the overall responses in this thread more people prefer than don't. The market speaks, KTM made the right call.

    The fact that I have it disabled and don't miss it means nada. Not everyone is as skilled as I am. :gdog

    (Yes that's me havin an Aussie Piss, LOL)

    :lol3

    :hide
    #29
  10. TrailTrauma

    TrailTrauma Nemophilist Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Oddometer:
    7,060
    Location:
    Planet Fucking Earth
    Nothing a few cold ones in person wouldn't fix I bet. Just wait till March or April... :turkish

    '...and I can hardly wait'.

    #30
  11. CaseyB

    CaseyB Adventually Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,560
    Location:
    The Garden State
    Who knew this would be such a contentious topic. :lol3

    I bought the bike out of state, had the dealer turn it off and didnt touch it for a month

    Got home and was farting around locally and decided to give it a shot. It certainly produced a smile. I still turn it off while off pavement.

    So just to get this straight, it’s still enabled when the bikes new then gets turned off after any visit to dealer/hooked up to computer?

    seems like a crack dealer. Just give you a taste

    @CalamariKid you make a decision yet :D
    #31
    enduro16 and SirWreckaLot like this.
  12. kubcat

    kubcat Riding is Eudaemonic Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Oddometer:
    2,618
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Sure you are, but there's an art to it:bmwrider.
    #32
    SirWreckaLot likes this.
  13. jmarleau

    jmarleau Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Oddometer:
    571
    My quick shifter was enabled when the bike was delivered. I kinda wish I could turn it off but I can't.
    #33
  14. braaap!

    braaap! Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Oddometer:
    5,617
    Location:
    Melbourne - AU
    Ah, the ignore button. As useful as CC.
    #34
    Jarrett2, kzeb, 1coolbanana and 4 others like this.
  15. Toddv

    Toddv Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,362
    Location:
    SC
    You can unbolt the sensor and zip tie it away from the magnet and disable it without issue.
    #35
    ndavis likes this.
  16. AdvRonski

    AdvRonski They call me......Ronski

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,857
    Location:
    Fruita, center of the Dirt Bike Universe.
    That didn't seem to work for me. I got a check engine light on all of the time, until I put the sensor back in place.
    FWIW, I don't see much use for QS for the mostly off-road riding that I do, but having to pay just to disable it seems pretty cheesy.
    #36
    lithodave and windblown101 like this.
  17. jmarleau

    jmarleau Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Oddometer:
    571
    Nice! Thanks.
    #37
  18. GordonFreeman

    GordonFreeman Gamer Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,964
    Location:
    The Great North State
    I own a 1290SAR and have been looking at the 790. I really like the QS on the 1290, but in some technical situations in which I prefer full manual control, the clutch lever is there for me. Why on the 790 is it necessary to pay to have the option to turn QS off, as opposed to simply not using it?
    #38
  19. Toddv

    Toddv Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,362
    Location:
    SC
    O, I read that someone else had done it and it worked fine with no light.
    As Ronski said above, it didn't work for him but I read that another inmate had done it without issue so who knows? Worth a shot maybe but sorry if it doesn't!
    #39
  20. Toddv

    Toddv Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,362
    Location:
    SC
    You have to pay extra for that option
    #40