1. eNewsletter Sign Up

790 Adventure R - high side, where was the TC?

Discussion in 'Parallel World (790/890)' started by InconelWolf, Dec 23, 2019.

1. InconelWolf

InconelWolf Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hi all,

Hopefully this hasn't already been covered somewhere, did a quick search and couldn't find it.

Anyway just picked my 2020 790 Adventure R a week ago and within 5 days already had a pretty heavy crash... Was turning left onto a dry empty road and after passing the apex and leveling out the bike I started to add some gas at which point the bike massively broke rear wheel traction, went almost completely sideways before snapping back into a high side with predictable results leaving me with a concussion and broken clavicle :-(. I knew the bike was new to me and had new tires so really wasn't riding at all aggressively.

I have been riding for >20 years in all conditions, raced on dirt and tarmac and ridden much more powerful bikes...
    Bike was set in 'road' mode for traction control etc, road was dry in and good condition, have taken the same corner hundreds of times before faster on my previous bike.

While I don't expect TC to fix every issue it seems like it must have pretty much done nothing to help me here or maybe even made it worse?

Anyone else have similar issues? I am wondering if there is something wrong with the bike... I am willing to accept some rider error but if TC didn't help me here not sure what is the point of it...
  2. braaap!

braaap! Long timer Supporter

Oddometer:
    Well that just royally sucks! I feel your (clavicle) pain... Can't shed any light on why your TC failed you. Black cat / Ladder / Murphy's Law perhaps?
  3. scfrank

scfrank Old farts riding club. Supporter

Oddometer:
    In 7000 miles never experienced anything like that. Sounds like something extraneous. Either with the bike or road condition. Stock tires? Obviously lost traction for some reason.

Heal well.
    Sfcootz and Venturer like this.
  4. Gone Troppo