790 security alarm

Discussion in 'Parallel World (790/890)' started by ZiggyInNc, Nov 23, 2019.

  1. ZiggyInNc

    ZiggyInNc Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2018
    Oddometer:
    311
    Location:
    28722
    Anyone have one? The only reviews i could find just said it was an easy install.
    #1
  2. Matt P

    Matt P Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Oddometer:
    125
    Location:
    Fresno Ca
    I have it.
    I used that magnificent site that a fellow inmate created to source what I needed.
    It is crazy simple to install and everything you need comes with the two kits. The harness to plug in is there on your bike now.
    Way easier then my heated grips or cruise control.

    Simple function. With it armed just upright my bike and it goes off. Tiny remotes.

    Do it, Do it.....
    #2
    ZiggyInNc likes this.
  3. [Art]

    [Art] Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Oddometer:
    465
    Location:
    France
  4. ZiggyInNc

    ZiggyInNc Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2018
    Oddometer:
    311
    Location:
    28722
    Mine is getting installed by the dealer when I bring it in for the first service next week. They include free install on any accessories when purchased at the same time as the bike - they just had to order it as they don’t keep them in stock.
    #4
    Matt P likes this.
  5. Romo76

    Romo76 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Oddometer:
    12
    I ordered it with mine and when I saw how it’s mounted was a bit disappointed to see I’ll have to remove it every time I need to get to the air filter. Oh well only a few screws, no big deal.
    #5
    ZiggyInNc likes this.
  6. Orfeas

    Orfeas Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Oddometer:
    263
    I will be installing the Pandora Smart Moto
    Alarm, had it on my 690 and it’s the best system out there imo. Lots of features and comes with a great app.
    #6
  7. blackSP

    blackSP Im 'in orbita ponendum simulat

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,140
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Shamelessly quadruple the price without having to do anything. What a rip off!!!!!
    #7
    SirWreckaLot likes this.
  8. comradecasey

    comradecasey Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Oddometer:
    852
    Location:
    Oregon / Tennessee
    Welcome to capitalism :D
    #8
  9. [Art]

    [Art] Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Oddometer:
    465
    Location:
    France
    It's been in the FAQ for ages. As someone who installed this alarm, and use it, if you see things to correct in the FAQ please let me know: I don't have an alarm and all the info there was sourced from other people.
    #9
  10. [Art]

    [Art] Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Oddometer:
    465
    Location:
    France
    Ah, but in the literature the seat switch is always pictured with the mount, and never with the alarm. If it is included with the alarm that's good. What is it composed of? A magnetic switch and a magnet? Or a push switch and a metallic plate on the seat?
    #10
  11. gsuks

    gsuks Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,788
    Location:
    wilnis de ronde venen nederland
    #11
  12. gsuks

    gsuks Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,788
    Location:
    wilnis de ronde venen nederland
    on the 790 adv.net
    they mention the link I posted
    it seems there is already experience with that alarm.

    https://790adventure.net/security/alarm-system/
    #12
  13. gsuks

    gsuks Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,788
    Location:
    wilnis de ronde venen nederland
    ok just ordered the alarm.
    one question
    is it possible to use the alarm without the seat magnet? ( I have 2 different seats for different purposes)
    #13
  14. kzeb

    kzeb Been here quite some time

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Oddometer:
    387
    Location:
    Scandinavia
    Yes you don't need the magnet at all if you don't want to.
    #14
    gsuks likes this.
  15. ShaftEd

    ShaftEd Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Oddometer:
    4,125
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Just installed the Meta Def Com T on my 790R. Tried to buy from the faq link, but on check out it said "No Shipping Options". I'm in California US. I went ahead and purchased from this ebay link:

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-META-D...2-1-MOTORCYLE-ALARM-IMMOBILISER-/281611244029

    Took 8 days to arrive from UK. This is the easiest install ever. Plug it in and velcro'd to the airbox lid. Didn't bother with the KTM mounting kit with seat reed switch. Works great and comes with two small remotes. I have it set to manual arming, not auto after turning off the bike. Bike is mostly in a locked garage, but occasionally would be nice to arm for road trips in the motel parking lot.
    [​IMG]
    #15
    windblown101 likes this.
  16. windblown101

    windblown101 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    7,988
    Location:
    Star Tannery, VA
    Same here. Ordered off Ebay. Shipped quick from UK. Quick and easy install.

    Haven't been brave enough yet to try to disarm it using the key switch routine and program in a custom code but will do so maybe later today. Want to make certain I can disarm it without the remote if need be. As I understand it if the alarm is armed and the remote doesn't work or is lost even unplugging the unit won't allow the bike to start. I'd hate to have the remote die and not have a way to get moving.

    I don't envision arming the alarm often but it's a nice option to have for overnights in a motel or if having to leave the bike somewhere vulnerable and out of sight for an extended period of time.
    #16
  17. Turts

    Turts Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Oddometer:
    38
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC
    So the eBay version does not come with the seat switch?
    Fair enough if that’s the case.
    Has anyone seen it offered with shipping to Canada?
    Has anyone done a write up on how to use/program, what it’s like to live with etc?
    #17
  18. windblown101

    windblown101 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    7,988
    Location:
    Star Tannery, VA
    Mine came with user manual and Install instructions. Pretty straight forward though changing the defaults seems a bit clumsy. I second it would be great if anyone has a write up about living with it and a y tips, tricks, or gotchas. The basic install though is dead simple. Plug it in. Arm it with a push of a button. Stick key in ignition and unarm with a push of the button.
    #18
  19. windblown101

    windblown101 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    7,988
    Location:
    Star Tannery, VA
    If you leave the alarm armed it will definitely draw down the battery. A month of the alarm active without a tender would do it for certain I imagine.
    #19
    MeVoGTC likes this.
  20. ShaftEd

    ShaftEd Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Oddometer:
    4,125
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    According to instructions it will shutdown draw after five days. It’s still armed but the flashing dash light stops. BTW, says normal draw is only 1.8 Milliamps
    #20
    windblown101 likes this.