94 klr 250 oil?

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by bgordon22, May 16, 2020.

1. bgordon22

bgordon22 n00b

Oddometer:
    Doing my first oil change soon on my 94 klr 250 and have come to a crossroads. Guy that I bought this beauty from said he put 20 w 5 in it... does that sound right? Or is that bad for it? I haven’t found it recommended anywhere so I’m now concerned that the previous owner was not using the correct oil in her. Any advice or recommendations are appreciated, I’m a noob!

Attached Files:

2. psych-o

psych-o Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Nice looking bike! 20w is way too light. I doubt any damage was done by the previous owner using it, but to extend your longevity I would move to a 40w. Enjoy the ride!
  3. MattLikeyBikey

MattLikeyBikey Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Super sweet bike. Don't f up that awesome color scheme. Use what the manual says. There are very, very, very few cases of oil problems relating to using the manufacturer recommended oil. Name one. If it's low miles I'd keep conventional in it rather than synthetic. Maybe go to synthetic when it's over 5 or 10 thou. Change it at mileage recommended including the oil filter and don't worry about it.

I would also bet that it's very unlikely that any damage was incurred due to oil previously used. I've owned much more abused bikes that purred like a kitten when I got to 'em.
    psych-o and MountainGoatMyke like this.
  4. Beezer

Beezer Long timer Supporter

Oddometer:
    Anchorage, formerly Spenard (hub of the universe)
    don't use oil with friction modifiers, it can make the clutch slip. these are usually marketed as enviro something. best to use old school multi weight mineral oil. I used Castrol 10-40 or 20-50 in mine. Shell Rotella and Dello 400 still have the zinc in them and are other favorites, especially on older air cooled engines (yes, I know the klr has a radiator)