98' 620 RXC W/Quicksilver carb

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by Sailor Jack, Mar 4, 2005.

1. Sailor Jack

Sailor Jack Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Hi, Just picked up a 1998 620 RXC with 3500 miles on it for $2800. Love it- feals like a scalpel compaired to the GS I reluctantly parted with a few months ago- The bike needs tires but other than that it's solid. It's also bone stock. With the carb I notice some intermittent engine stutter when running at low rpm at constant throttle position- is this normal for the KTM or an issue with the Quicksilver? Also since I'm new to the LC-4 any tips you might have on maintence and mods would be greatly appreciated!
  2. Jeff620RXC

Jeff620RXC Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    There are issues with the Quicksilver.
    Some guys have spent some time and money on it and made it ok.
    Most consider it junk. Most guys swap in a Mikuni BST or TM40.
    The DelOrto came on the pre 97's and it is a pretty good carb.
    The ultimate replacement costs $500...the FCR 41. (you don't need the mx version)
    That is what I went with and there is no comparison between it and the E-Brock. It starts and idles perfectly. There is plenty power everywhere.
    It is the most expensive but the best performer. You can get a kit that comes with cables...and you use your current Quicksilver boots.

You can send your Quicksilver to E-Brock and they will do some upgrades that help....I think it costs around $150. This may or may not make you happy. Mine had the mods when I got it and I could never get it to work well for me.

http://www.pro-flo.com/proflo_keihin_fcr_carb_kits.htm#KTM
    www.sudco.com
  3. Sailor Jack

Oddometer:
    Thanks for the advice. The guy who had the bike before me rebuilt the quicksilver and advised me to run it rich to avoid problems. It starts and idles without a hitch but has the problems i mentioned before. Whats a good carb/exhaust combo for this bike?
  4. g-force

g-force Adventurer

Oddometer: