990 Adventure TPS problem?

Discussion in 'Dakar champion (950/990)' started by DC1200, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. DC1200

    DC1200 KTM 990R Adv

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Oddometer:
    64
    Location:
    Upper Hunter Valley, NSW, Australia.
    G'day all,

    Got an odd thing happening for the last few hundred kilometers with my late 2006 990 Advventure.

    Idles fine, revs fine in neutral, but when riding it sometimes wants to hold the revs up higher, 3/3500ish. Wants to keep driving the bike with the throttle closed, and will very slowly come down as you coast along back to idle (just not as quick as it would usually when shutting off the throttle), but it will drop straight back to idle when the clutch is pulled in. Pretty annoying when coming into corners and stuff...

    The throttle cables all adjusted OK, action is smooth as with G2 +400 cam, new air filter, clean fuel filter etc.

    Got me thinking the TPS may be out of spec/ adjustment. Went over it as per the manual, here's what I found.-

    Manual spec says- Test black and yellow wires from TPS with multimeter, ignition on, should get 0.5V- 0.6V throttle closed, 3.6V-3.7V with throttle open.

    Here's what I got-

    front TPS throttle closed = 0.62V open = 3.90V

    rear TPS throttle closed = 1.03V open = 1.03V

    Hmm....front's a tiny bit out, not worth adjusting just yet.

    EDIT- Upon closer inspection, the rear controls the secondary throttle butterflies, however should the reading be the same as the front (there's nothing in the manual mentioning the rear TPS adjustment), and could this be causing the surge/ higher revs with a closed throttle?


    Anyone else came across this before?


    Cheers, Dan.
    #1
  2. wildehond

    wildehond wildehond

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Oddometer:
    334
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Mine also did that at some stage. The battery was a bit tired at that stage. Replaced the battery and had the ECU reset. Problem solved.
    FI bike as quite sensitive to the state of the battery.
    #2
  3. DC1200

    DC1200 KTM 990R Adv

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Oddometer:
    64
    Location:
    Upper Hunter Valley, NSW, Australia.
    Thanks wildehond,

    Yes I thought about the battery also. The current one is about 18 months old, and gets regular use too.

    I checked all the conections/ plugs, the stator to regulator plug had a bit of muddy crap around it but the terminals were still clean. I cleaned them up with contact cleaner, and will keep an eye on this in the future. It seems to cop some spray off the front wheel in the wet, which isn't ideal I know.

    I'll re-check the battery voltage when I get a chance, but pretty sure it is not a problem at the moment though.

    How did you go about getting the ECU reset, through a dealer, or the mystical 15 minute idle trick? I tried the 15 minute idle too with no result.

    Cheers, Dan.
    #3
  4. wildehond

    wildehond wildehond

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Oddometer:
    334
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa

    The battery that gave the problems was a cheapy after market one and it only had 12 months use. But the bike was not used much at that stage and a lot of short runs to the shop, less than 5km. This probably is not enough to recharge the starting load on the battery.

    The reset was done by the Dealer. Luckily they are quite close to where I work so that was easily done.
    #4
  5. DC1200

    DC1200 KTM 990R Adv

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Oddometer:
    64
    Location:
    Upper Hunter Valley, NSW, Australia.
    I talked to the dealer's V-twin guru today, and described what is happening.

    He says it sounds like a problem with the idle step motor being a bit out of sync, plus I have never had a ECU re-map since I fitted Staintune pipes 20K ago. He seems pretty confident this will fix everything up.

    Booked in next Tuesday for a re-map, fingers crossed it all goes well....

    Cheers, Dan.
    #5
  6. K2m

    K2m ....58....

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Oddometer:
    2,238
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    That voltage spec for the TPS sounds like the carb TPS speck

    Could you be reading the 950 section? It's interesting that the rear is not mentioned.
    #6
  7. Zuber

    Zuber Zoob Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Oddometer:
    5,690
    Location:
    West of the West, Oregon
    There are two sensors. The first is the one on the main throttle connected to the twist grip. The second is attached to the upper throttle plates controled by the stepper motor.

    There is also an automatic idle that controls the main throttle. To test the main throttle TPS voltage you must push the throttle plates shut aginst this auto-idle control. I haven't looked up the spec, but it's more like 0.3v with the plates completly shut.

    With this early of a model, I assume this is actually a 2007, you need the latest flash. It's improved running on the 07-08 models a great deal.
    #7
  8. DC1200

    DC1200 KTM 990R Adv

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Oddometer:
    64
    Location:
    Upper Hunter Valley, NSW, Australia.
    Problem solved!

    Well I trailered the bike to the workshop, as it's a 500km round trip to the nearest v-twin dealer for me. I guess being so far from a shop I'm just used to doing everything myself, this one had me buggered though.

    They downloaded the Akra map, gave it the 15 miute idle, took it for a spin, and runs better than it ever has. Wish I'd done this ages ago.
    They even took the time to fix an outstanding TSB from way back, to check and replace the oil return line from the oil tank.

    Thanks for the replies, and a big thanks to Julie and Mark at Procycles for getting this sorted out.

    Cheers, Dan.
    #8
  9. Zuber

    Zuber Zoob Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Oddometer:
    5,690
    Location:
    West of the West, Oregon
    Good luck with your MPG and that Acrop map. Runs great though, doesn't it?
    #9
  10. grinns

    grinns Semper Fi

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,342
    Location:
    Rainy, Wa
    I got a pretty consistent 35 mpg on crappy 10% ethanol gas. :D
    #10
  11. Just Paul

    Just Paul Pro Cat Herder

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Oddometer:
    2,108
    Location:
    Pleasanton, Ca
    with the akra map most guys are hunting for gas with the fuel light on at 109 miles..
    #11
    Deviant666 likes this.
  12. shawty950

    shawty950 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Oddometer:
    243
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    07 990s...akra map since 1000 k's......now at 54,000 and been tracking since new via fuelly.

    Avg of 40mpg...best of 46mpg.....worst 31mpg :evil

    Shawty(Australia)
    #12
  13. wildehond

    wildehond wildehond

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Oddometer:
    334
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Ain't that the truth, BUT it is worth every sent! :ricky
    #13
  14. ddorrons

    ddorrons Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Oddometer:
    35
    #14
  15. Rideimal

    Rideimal Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Oddometer:
    104
    Location:
    Surrounded by Texas
    I had a very similar issue and I tracked it to the TPS. The TPS is very sensitive to heat - it reads about .5v higher with the engine hot than it does with the engine cold. You need to set it with the engine around four bars (old metric). This is very easy with TuneECU - if you have a 990 then you owe it to yourself to pay the $35 for a cable and $0 for the software (thanks again Tom and Alain). While you are in there you can spend an extra three minutes to reset the idle.
    #15
    Benduro likes this.
  16. the foolish fellow

    the foolish fellow UP FOR IT

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    140
    Location:
    DONEGAL
    How exactly is this re-set. I have tune ecu and cable
    #16
  17. IBJim

    IBJim WhoUB?

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Oddometer:
    379
    Location:
    NW PA
    Dan- my bike is just started acting exactly as you describe. I have the stock silencers and apparently an updated map.

    Did your bike stay fixed?? Is this dangerous surging/high idle shit the TPS, stepper motor, or both?

    I've thrown a lot of money into this w/ the local dealer that clearly doesn't have a clue what's going on.

    Appreciate any advice ANYONE may have on this!!
    #17
  18. Oli990

    Oli990 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Oddometer:
    109
    Location:
    Belgium
    A faulty clutch switch can cause the same symptoms. I have had the same problem, bypassing the clutch switch fixed it.
    #18
  19. Mad Kaw Disease

    Mad Kaw Disease Dual Sport Diseased

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    534
    Location:
    Vancouver (NOT BC), Washington (NOT DC)
    For what it's worth, I had similar odd problems with 2007 990 including a refusal to start at unexplainable intervals. After some exhaustive investigation the tech discovered that although my battery held a full charge of cranking amps, the actual voltage fluctuated and the ECU didn't like that all.

    A new quality battery fixed all ills but over several years I've learned that the bike has same issues as the battery ages, especially a cheap battery. The battery would test fully charged but the ECU would just click and cycle without ever engaging the starter, then an hour later would start fine.

    Moral of the story is check the voltage output when issues start to check for fluctuations outside of the norm.
    #19
  20. gtdsrider

    gtdsrider Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Oddometer:
    65
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I have had random surging/stalling issues on my 990 over the past year that has gradually gotten worse. I have 40k miles on a 2008 990 adv. and have checked fuel pump, fuel filters, battery, loose wires, etc. We used tune ecu to identify throttle position %'s that were too high even after we had reset them with the software. I took a throttle body from a friends bike and it cured the problem. Based on the many post in this forum I suspected the TPS so I swapped the one from the good bike and it immediately solved the problem. The older 07 & 08 adventure bikes are getting some mileage by now and this part should be among the first things checked when there is an intermittent idle problem or stalling issues around 4500-5000 rpm. I just ordered a new one and will be glad to fix this bike for $100 after many hours of messing with this problem.
    #20