A Newbie's 9,500 mile USA Journey on a Ninja 250

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by bbonds_007, Jul 27, 2016.

1. bbonds_007

bbonds_007 Adventurer

Oddometer:
    My name is Bryan, I am a student at Pennsylvania State University and in the spring of 2014 I completed a 7 week coast-to-coast (and back) USA road trip on an epic lil’ Ninja 250 by myself. I will format this ride report a bit differently than most. The beginning will focus on my general overview of the trip, focusing on statistics and tips for other ADV riders (especially newbies, as this was my first road trip). Then I will go into a more traditional story-telling of the trip week by week. I've decided to post this report in its entirety rather than piece by piece, so if you like wordy stories you are in for a treat!

Or if you are a picture book kind of person, click here for the photo album (250 photos)!
    https://goo.gl/photos/neM3aD4CZLpZT4DQ6

Statistics!
    Rider: 22yo student (20 at time of trip), prior to the trip I had been riding for 2 years with only 4k miles experience.
    Bike: 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250 with 11,300 miles (prior to trip)
    Trip miles: 9,500
    Time to complete: 7 weeks (April 20th 2014 - June 6th 2014)
    Temperature range: 28-98 Fahrenheit (real temp)
    Map:
    [​IMG]

Cost of trip: $2,890
    Food: $900
    Gasoline: $500
    Parts for bike: $250
    Hotels / Campgrounds: $690
    Tourism (tickets, etc): $400
    etc: $150
    Lodging:
    ⅓ camping (all free federal land minus 3 nights at paid campgrounds)
    ⅓ hotels
    ⅓ tent space / couchsurfing with random strangers
    Bike performance / maintenance record
    Mean MPG: 65, range 38-73
    Tires: Kenda K671 rear and front.
    - Installed 2,000 miles prior to trip.
    - Front tire failed 9,000mi into the trip. It developed a major bubble without explanation.
    - Rear tire is still kicking with a little life to go, over 15,000 miles on it currently