Abandoned RailRoad - How far can I go?

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Day Trippin'' started by dredman, Apr 25, 2020.

1. dredman

dredman Dirty Moto-Tourist

Oddometer:
    So I have been tracking the history of Kellerman, Alabama since 2010 (a ghost town) and while researching and exploring, I have stumbled into the old railbed that led up to this mining town. The line was abandoned in 1962. Much of the railbed is underwater, but many of the tunnels still exist, and I intend to explore this line as far as I can go on a motorcycle. I have ridden to 3 of these tunnels as a young man and the scenery is EPIC (or at least WAS). I am pretty excited to share some of the history of this magnificent place, and maybe you will have as much fun watching as I do making these shorts. This is the first in the series of what I hope to 3-4 in this fascinating story.

2. dredman

Oddometer:
    This is one of 3 tunnels left on the M&O spur that I intend to find very soon.
    [​IMG]

Attached Files:

Ginger Beard, JB2, B10Dave and 2 others like this.
  3. 10K

10K Trail Runner

Oddometer:
    Excellent thread. I wish I was there with you, love exploring. Keep it coming!
    dredman likes this.
  4. dredman

Oddometer:
    I think it is about to get interesting?
  5. wheelbender6

wheelbender6 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Sounds like great fun. I unwisely rode a lot of active railways in my youth to access otherwise unreachable trails. I even crossed some active trestles. I kept my guardian angel pretty busy.
    dredman likes this.
  6. dredman

Oddometer:
    I think I may have some footage of a small group of us almost getting the smackdown crossing a 200 foot tressel within a few seconds of a train?
  7. JB2

JB2 Dirt Of The Earth

Oddometer: