Advice on buying a Pre 70's Airhead please.

Discussion in 'Airheads' started by Wardog327, Mar 6, 2018.

1. Wardog327

Wardog327 n00b

Oddometer:
    I've been looking to buy a vintage BMW R50, R60 for putting around the back road here in SE Ohio and have read, been told these bikes can be a headache with maintenance issues. I'm not afraid of doing your typical maintenance, adjusting valves etc. but wouldn't want to be consumed by it so looking for advice on what to watch/listen for when checking out one of these old Airheads. I've read up on the slingers etc. and wouldn't want to get to deep into the engine as I have plenty of projects now. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Guess I should say I've been riding and messing around with bikes for 45 yrs.

Thanks
  2. groop

groop So much to ponder

Oddometer:
    Why don't you seek out a bike that has had all of the major services recently completed? If this isn't going to be a high mileage pursuit, it will be some time before things like slingers come up again
  3. Wardog327

Wardog327 n00b

Oddometer:
    Sometimes that's cost prohibitive with people asking 19K + and most times they don't have the records to back up claims.
  4. thetubespoke

thetubespoke Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I am curious to learn more about the /2s. They seem promising but I've spent little time around them. Almost everyone says the /5+ is superior. But, I am sure not in all ways.

The frames are exceptionally strong, along with the earles front end. I have heard the post '60 R60/2s can have heads that warp badly from a different aluminium alloy. R50s are probably fine every year but will be very slow.