Africa Twin 17, 18, or just wait until 20

Discussion in 'Japanese polycylindered adventure bikes' started by Astronutz, Sep 23, 2019.

1. Astronutz

Astronutz Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hey all, noob here.

I was able to spend some time riding a 2017 AT (manual) in Alaska this summer and had an absolute blast on the bike. Since then I have had a chance to test ride just about every ADV bike on the market. While there are a lot of great bikes out there, the AT still stands out as one of my favorites.

OK, now here's the deal. There seems to be a large number of new leftover non-dct 17's for sale at some really attractive prices ($8,999 us). I am curious however that there are little to no 18's or even 19's available. I do know there were several changes in 18 such as throttle by wire along with a host of other things, but is the bike that much better?

So the dilemma is a new 17 at a good price, or try and find an 18 or 19? Geez, maybe I should just wait for the new 2020 to hit the market?

It's good to have choices, but it sure is confusing as hell. Thanks!
    davyjones likes this.
  2. Lewilewi

Lewilewi Ride it like you stole it......

Oddometer:
    1290 s.a.r ktm buddy, much better, proper bike
    Migolito likes this.
  3. Astronutz

Astronutz Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Agreed, KTM is a great bike but I'm not here to debate brands. Just looking for info on the Africa Twin. Thanks
  4. Lewilewi

Oddometer:
    I know buddy, I just could not resist promoting the orange
    Migolito likes this.
  5. Lewilewi

Oddometer:
    I nearly brought a a.t......I'm really glad I did not now
  6. swimmer

swimmer armchair asshole

Oddometer: