all round,greatest gps

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by kymbo, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. fetid_swamp

    fetid_swamp Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Oddometer:
    748
    man, i gotta get me one of those.
    while riding to supplement the gps on the bars, have it runn9ing ozi, switching between topos and referenced air photos. awse.
    win mob so i can run my work stuff, and wifi so i can surf.
    oh yeah, next g phone too.
    just the entry price is keeping me out atm...
    #41
  2. searchin oz

    searchin oz Sand, Gimme more sand

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,393
    Location:
    Buronga, SW NSW
    A few people have mentioned the USB external power point on some Garmin units may be an issue.

    I have a little Etrex whatever it is (its yellow:wink: ) and it has the USB power point.
    It has done 20,000 km strapped to the front of the 640ADV, seen plenty of dust, rain and everything else you could imagine! I have not had a problem to date. It is mounted behind the wind shield so it has limited protection.

    I wouldnt discount an otherwise fine GPS because of this.


    Also, someone mentioned something about vibration and batteries. To stop power drop outs while running on batteries, I put a small dob of silicone or similar on the inside of the battery cover. Then put some vasaline on the batteries and of the close the back of the GPS. Wait for silicoone to dry and you should have a vibration proof unit.
    #42
  3. FuTAnT

    FuTAnT KTM 990ADV

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Oddometer:
    350
    Location:
    Brisvegas, Oz
    Can you just clarify that you are using the USB connector to power the unit while riding, or just batteries?

    Cheers
    #43
  4. Adrian V

    Adrian V Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,852
    Location:
    Albany Western Australia
    Doe anyone know what cable/plug they use for external power on the new 78 series and how substantial/waterproof/vibration proof it is likely to be?:ear

    Thanks,

    Adrian
    #44
  5. kymbo

    kymbo kymbo

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Oddometer:
    475
    Location:
    fleurieu peninsula
    :deal thanks all great response will have too hunt around 4 a deal, plus mounting kit 4 950se.:clap
    #45
  6. eRRmmm

    eRRmmm Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Oddometer:
    587
    Location:
    antarctica
    What software is that? I'm very close to getting an HTC Desire and putting Copilot on it, but still uncertain about a decent Topo map. Maverick looks to be a good Android offroad nav program - currently waiting on their support desk to see if it will handle Shonkymaps....
    #46
  7. regie308

    regie308 Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,448
    Location:
    Wangaratta Australia
    G'day HerrMnnn

    That software is OZIEXPLORER CE ( http://www.oziexplorer.com ) it won't work on android software (htc desire) but i was told just recently they are going to make a version of oziexplorer for the iphone.. so maybe they might accomodate android systems soon. :dunno

    Copilot - for road type GPS software has become pretty dam good for the price you pay for it $70 and you get all of OZ & NZ, at this stage they haven't got the speed camera data working for OZ yet, but i have sent them an email.
    The copilot sofware is better than the garmin software on my older c320 and yet to up-grade that crap, you have to buy a whole cd for $250 that only gives you limited upgrade opportunities of just OZ (a total shafting i think).

    cheers
    Reg.
    #47
  8. pete40

    pete40 Life Behind Bars

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,483
    Location:
    Boggo Rd. Jail
    Hermann - will appreciate you posting results here - I am swaying towards HTC Desire also.

    Regie - you are right - Garmin is WAY to expensive for what you get and too restrictive on use.
    #48
  9. BurnieM

    BurnieM Nipple boy

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Oddometer:
    4,104
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Nope
    You can use the $99 update CD on a SP c320
    From July 09 (City Nav 2010) onward it has both Aus and NZ
    .
    #49
  10. regie308

    regie308 Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,448
    Location:
    Wangaratta Australia
    WTF!!! :eek1 ....$99 for an update CD..... that's a rip off too :huh I can never understand why garmin think its ok to charge people to the hilt for data their GPS allready contains, there are not that many new roads been built in OZ to warrant charging $100 for :huh

    You can buy copilot outright for $70.... garmin might wanna do better than that... and this why i gave up on garmin..... too greedy. IMO :D

    Good to hear they are atleast adding NZ............................. FINALLY
    #50
  11. BurnieM

    BurnieM Nipple boy

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Oddometer:
    4,104
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    You can buy a Garmin lifetime map upgrade for $189
    Remember Garmin have to pay Sensis for each upgrade

    At the moment you can buy a nuvi 1250 for $189 and Garmin are runnning a promotion until 30 Sep 10 where you send in your details and they give you a code for free lifetime updates.

    Note: this promotion does NOT apply to the nuvi 255
    .
    #51
  12. regie308

    regie308 Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,448
    Location:
    Wangaratta Australia
    Well it's good to see they are coming arround/getting fairer with their product. Thanks for updating me with their current pricing and please don't get me wrong Burnie, i used to be "all for" garmin but it was a while ago i got the shits with them, "more so" when i was paying good money for their software.... to tell me my house number was down the opposite end of the street and many other errors like this :huh this is when i thought stuff them.

    I'm gunna stick with Co-pilot for now, as it's still cheaper and just as good... if not better. (for road going software anyway)

    P.S. Just in addition in-case someone was interested, this latest co-poilot software i use for road going, allows you to drop a bread crumb trail... which i have'nt encounted on many road going GPS's (normally only seen on topo type GPS's/software)


    cheers
    Reg.
    #52
  13. eRRmmm

    eRRmmm Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Oddometer:
    587
    Location:
    antarctica
    Have heard back from the guys who produce Maverick that it is possible to load Shonkymap data into it (amongst lots of other maps). It seems a bit difficult up front but once set up with the maps it looks like it might be good for tracks. http://www.codesector.com/maverick.php

    From reading the help files Copilot will log track files and allow uploads of routes. I'm still waiting to hear back from Sygic as to if their mapping software will do this also (apparently Sygic uses Sensis maps which is reportedly better than Copilot's Navteq but that could just be a random forum rumour).

    I need to wait until my current plan runs out next month then I'll get the phone and start playing with this software.

    From what I can see it will have all the functionality of a Zumo (mapping, upload-able routes, track logging, offroad track functionality, trip computer, music player, bluetooth), plus allow extra apps to be added and customised, plus allow sending location data to Google Maps so my family can check where I am (if I'm in phone service), oh yeah and it can make phone calls.

    All for the same I am now paying for a phone plan, plus $70 for the Copilot, instead of $700 or whatever for a Zumo.

    I plan on sticking it in a Ram mount Aquabox so it is waterproof and protected from damage... another $100 or so.
    #53
  14. Oz-Strom

    Oz-Strom Still trying

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Oddometer:
    827
    Location:
    Casuarina Australia
    #54
  15. pete40

    pete40 Life Behind Bars

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,483
    Location:
    Boggo Rd. Jail
    That "lifetime" is the lifetime of the GPS. The way they continually update them and phase them out - what could we realistically expect this to be Burnie?
    #55
  16. BurnieM

    BurnieM Nipple boy

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Oddometer:
    4,104
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Probably 4-5 years
    but new features come out all the time and you may want to upgrade to get the new features

    Map updates are now 4 times a year so the lifetime update does give you all the latest maps (probably still 2 years behind)
    .
    #56
  17. pete40

    pete40 Life Behind Bars

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,483
    Location:
    Boggo Rd. Jail
    I've never really looked properly at this "Shonky Maps" - the first word puts me off. How good/bad is it really? What annoys me about Google Earth is all the "mis-placed" data about hotels and tourist sites etc. on there placed by idiots. Is Shonky like this too with a bunch of tracks in the wrong place etc.?

    Maybe should start a new thread for this....
    #57
  18. El Ponkin

    El Ponkin Bloodrunner

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    3,154
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I find Shonky Maps better than Tracks 4 Australia.
    #58
  19. BurnieM

    BurnieM Nipple boy

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Oddometer:
    4,104
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Shonky and T4A both use the Geoscience Australia 1:250k roads and tracks database.

    Shonky also adds some POIs (mountain peaks etc) and contour lines
    .
    #59
  20. Doctor

    Doctor Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Oddometer:
    8,415
    Location:
    standing inside looking out
    shonky has uhf repeater poi's amounst many others ! t4a is a user contributed data base ! so is not as complete a shonky. shonky with dogahans 5mt contours overlaid is really hard to beat even by paid maps
    #60