all round,greatest gps

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by kymbo, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. BurnieM

    BurnieM Nipple boy

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Oddometer:
    4,104
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Actually there is SFA user contributed data. That was the idea, but it never took off.
    Both use Geoscience Australia roads and tracks database

    Both OZtopo and Topo Australia have significantly more tracks
    .
    #61
  2. b0mb3r

    b0mb3r Old Git

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,992
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast QLD

    if it was your money Burnie what one would you buy :thumb
    #62
  3. BurnieM

    BurnieM Nipple boy

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Oddometer:
    4,104
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    They are very close

    OZtopo has slightly more 4WD tracks and is in 2 layers so you can turn off the contour lines. OZtopo does not support auto-routing

    Topo Australia still has extensive 4WD tracks (altho neither product has 100% coverage). It does perform onroad 'auto-routing'

    Both are $239
    .
    #63
  4. b0mb3r

    b0mb3r Old Git

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,992
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast QLD
    Can you view any of these in 3Dand can you plan a route on the putter for both? are there any GOOD 3D mapping of Aus?
    sorry to be a pain
    #64
  5. searchin oz

    searchin oz Sand, Gimme more sand

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,392
    Location:
    Buronga, SW NSW
    Plugged in via socket on dash. I havn't put new batteres in mine in 5 years!
    #65
  6. Jelkie

    Jelkie Beginner

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Oddometer:
    38
    Location:
    Kensington (Melbourne) Australia
    Right now you can pick one up for AUD299 at Anaconda. That's $200 off. It is part of their winter clearance and ends August 25 unless sold out. Just pure chance that I checked their catalogue (am on their mailing list) and was researching GPS for a bike myself. Probably wait a few weeks and pick up the Aldi one on sale for $169, but I may even push my luck harder and pick one up for less than that. And I don't even have a bike!

    Tried to post a pic of the Anaconda catalogue but its PDF/flash. So just go to their website and click on specials. Its on the first page of the catalogue, lower right corner.

    Let us know what you end up getting.

    And apologies to anyone who reads this and goes :topes I just paid full price.

    Cheers,
    Jelkie
    #66
  7. DazRSV

    DazRSV Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Oddometer:
    236
    Location:
    South Sydney
    Thanks Jelkie,

    might head down and check em out see if they got any left.
    Thats a failry good price from what Ive researched.
    #67
  8. BurnieM

    BurnieM Nipple boy

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Oddometer:
    4,104
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Many dealers are running out their GPS 60 series stock now that the GPS 62 series is available

    The GPSmap 60Cx or GPSmap 60CSx are still excellent GPSs tho
    .
    #68
  9. willy1818

    willy1818 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Oddometer:
    261
    Location:
    Kenthurst, Australia
    Hi
    Just got the 60csx from anaconda. What ram mount are people using? Where to get it from as well?
    Thanks
    Michael
    #69
  10. GodSilla

    GodSilla I did that.

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    12,013
    Location:
    GodSowncountry Australia
    I use the Touratech locking mount. It's cheap for a TT part (but still not cheap, if you get my drift) and has shock isolation built-in. It is well made.
    The best part is you can stop for a burger or a pie and not have to take the gps off the bike evry time, it stays locked in the cradle.
    #70
  11. hahnelw

    hahnelw Just Mapping Another Ride

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Oddometer:
    603
    Location:
    Outer South East Melbourne
    Johnny Appleseed will sell you one with a specific mounting kit for the 60csx
    #71
  12. willy1818

    willy1818 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Oddometer:
    261
    Location:
    Kenthurst, Australia
    :eek1 not cheap $195. Still like you say it is locked on so dont have to remove it every time you stop.
    #72
  13. BurnieM

    BurnieM Nipple boy

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Oddometer:
    4,104
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    The Touratech mount is only really a cradle.
    You still need the RAM arm and handlebar base
    .
    #73
  14. Sleepy John

    Sleepy John Grumpy Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Oddometer:
    3,746
    Location:
    Bris Vegas, Australia
    #74
  15. pete40

    pete40 Life Behind Bars

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,483
    Location:
    Boggo Rd. Jail
    #75
  16. Not for Highway Use

    Not for Highway Use Wannabe hasbeen

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,011
    Location:
    Canowindra, NSW, Australia
    What mapping software come with the 60csx?

    Do I have to buy more detailed software to make it better?

    Currently I have a Magellen Explorist 600 with I find is great and rugged but getting a bit long in the tooth. But, it's loaded with all the good maps so I'm thinking forking out another 299 then $2-300 for decent software may be hard to justify.
    #76
  17. antipode

    antipode Wanderer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    583
    Location:
    Somerset County, NJ
    Mine came with the 'Basic Americas' or something useless like that. I bought the City Navigator Australia and added the Shonky Topo Maps (free) from here http://shonkylogic.net/shonkymaps/ and never have had a problem.
    #77
  18. BurnieM

    BurnieM Nipple boy

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Oddometer:
    4,104
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Basemap only; rough as guts main highways only
    It comes with a 'Trip & Waypoint Manager' CD for the PC.
    This has a copy of the rough basemap with the MapSource software and lets you transfer waypoints, tracks and routes to and from the GPS.

    Free Tracks4Australia or Shonkymaps can be loaded or
    you can purchase the more detailed OZtopo or Topo Australia for $229

    Buy a 2 or 4GB microSD card to load maps to.
    No point in buying larger as you cannot really use it
    .
    #78
  19. BurnieM

    BurnieM Nipple boy

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Oddometer:
    4,104
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    If you want 'turn by turn' auto-routing and also 4WD tracks then I would probably just buy and load Garmins Topo Australia
    .
    #79
  20. podge NT

    podge NT Podge NT

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,345
    Location:
    Darwin NT
    Got my 62s yesterday from Johnny Appleseed for $455 waiting for my topo maps to arrive (forgot to order at the same time).
    #80