Alpha Test: Help us Test Embedded GPX Maps on the Forum. Feedback needed.

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by Pauladv, Sep 16, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Pauladv

    Pauladv ADVrider.com Content Guy Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Oddometer:
    93
    Location:
    NZ
    @jlevers and I are working on a system that instead of showing download boxes when a GPX file is attached to a forum post, an interactive map will be embedded instead alongside a download link.

    So instead of this ...

    Screen Shot 2019-09-17 at 5.11.20 PM.jpg

    inmates will see ....

    Screen Shot 2019-09-17 at 5.12.19 PM.jpg

    Right now the system is in Alpha testing. It is running on the forum but hidden and requires a special trick to enable it on any given page.

    We would like inmates to test it out and give us feedback.

    To try it you need to find a post with a GPX file uploaded/attached (such as this post), then modify the URL of the page in your web browser.

    For example this thread:

    https://advrider.com/f/threads/scipio-orv-full-loop-2018-gpx-file.1349152/

    To load the GPX file you need to append ?loadgpx=true

    https://advrider.com/f/threads/scipio-orv-full-loop-2018-gpx-file.1349152/?loadgpx=true

    If the URL has "#" symbol the ?loadgpx=true needs to be before it. For example, if the original URL is:

    https://advrider.com/f/threads/scipio-orv-full-loop-2018-gpx-file.1349152/#post-36310620

    This is how you would load the maps:

    https://advrider.com/f/threads/scipio-orv-full-loop-2018-gpx-file.1349152/?loadgpx=true#post-36310620

    So to load the GPX attachment on this page, you would load this page:

    https://advrider.com/f/threads/alpha-test-help-us-test-embedded-gpx-maps-on-the-forum-feedback-needed.1407088/?loadgpx=true

    Notes:

    • When the final version is deployed, you don't need to mess around with URLs
    • Some large GPX files may take some time to load. When we deploy the final version we will try speed up loading.
    • If you click the "Layer" button in the corner you can switch to a Sat photo view. We are not sure if this will be used in the final version, because Sat imagery is expensive. But if you like it, let us know.
    • The Street + Sat layer is not currently working.
    Let us know what does not work, test it on your phones and tablets, and let us know what other features you would like.

    Attached Files:

    #1
    jlevers and phreakingeek like this.
  2. ramz

    ramz Professional Trail Rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    3,061
    Location:
    Salida, CO
    Satellite works, Street + Satellite doesn't.
    Download GPX works, file checks out OK.
    +- works.


    MacOS 10.13.6 on iMac, Firefox 69.0 Black Responsive (Orange)

    :ricky
    #2
    Pauladv likes this.
  3. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    8,141
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    It doesn't display right away. First it gives the old style uploaded file box.

    If I refresh the page it does show the map. If I edit the post it's back to the uploaded file box, but another refresh shows the map again.

    As @ramz notes, street + satellite shows no map but does display the track.

    Linux Mint 19 MATE with Firefox 61.

    Attached Files:

    #3
    Pauladv likes this.
  4. Pauladv

    Pauladv ADVrider.com Content Guy Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Oddometer:
    93
    Location:
    NZ
    #4
  5. DRONE

    DRONE Dog Chauffeur

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,973
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    Firefox 69 on a Mac running OSX 10.11.6 -- map appears instantly, route visible, totally functional zoom and pan, street OK, satellite OK, no streetplussatellite mode. One-tap download of the gpx file.

    Chrome 76.0.389 on a Mac running OSX 10.11.6 -- same results

    BTW, works OK even if not logged in.
    #5
    Pauladv likes this.
  6. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    8,141
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    #6
    Pauladv likes this.
  7. Pauladv

    Pauladv ADVrider.com Content Guy Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Oddometer:
    93
    Location:
    NZ
    Thanks, it's probably working correctly :wings Because its a test, it's not as well integrated as we would like.
    #7
  8. jasiu

    jasiu Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Oddometer:
    205
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    On my old Windows XP:
    - Firefox ESR 52.9.0 (32-bit) works fine, Street + Satellite shows white background.
    - Google Chrome Version 49.0.2623.112 m works fine, Street + Satellite shows white background.
    - MS IE 8 version 8.0.6001.18702 DOESN'T work, please see below:
    2019-09-18_0724.png

    Windows 8.1
    - Google Chrome Version 76.0.3809.132 (64-bit) works fine, Street + Satellite shows white background.
    - IE 11 Version: 11.0.9600.19377, DOESN'T work, please see below:
    2019-09-18_0712.png
    #8
    jlevers and Pauladv like this.