Alpine Loop October 19th

Discussion in 'Americas' started by Shakey23, Sep 28, 2019.

1. Shakey23

Shakey23 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Hey all. I am heading to Colorado and want to ride the Alpine Loop and do some moto camping. My riding buddy can’t go, so I am looking for someone to go with. I am a novice at trail riding on the big bikes, but have a lot of dirt bike experience. I don’t want to do anything that is too technical. Looking at the BDR map it says there is an “easy” route from Ouray to Lake City which sounds like the route for me. I ride the gravel roads here in Texas a lot and some trail riding but not the rocky slate stuff in Colorado. Does anyone have any experience with this route to give me an idea of what I am getting into? And would anyone be interested in joining? I plan on camping in Durango Friday night and heading up to Ouray Saturday morning. I am leaving from north Dallas area Friday and coming back Monday.

I am also considering camping in Lake City Friday and taking the route to Ouray then riding the San Juan Skyway.
  2. shrederscott

shrederscott Long timer

Oddometer:
    Hi

That is getting late in the season to do that route.

Be advised

1 ....Its possible that snow can occur between now and then that will CLOSE the loop for the season

2 ...Camping could be COLD at night,

3 fall colors will be done in that area .
    ..it's peaking right about now

Check the weather before you leave.

Good luck

Scott
  3. ibgary

ibgary Long timer

Oddometer:
    I haven't done the part you are looking at, but like Scott said it will be cold at night. Last Oct I did the streatch going northfrom Lake City. Great camping along that road. Nice ride not technical but very cold early in the morning. The colors were great. See if I can find some pics. Have fun. 443875859.jpg 1230381587.jpg

Count me as a maybe. Ill be in touch. Looks like fun, and I have the time.
    My tarp tore on my last trip, new one on order. View attachment 1918177