Alpinestars Belize, Forma adv. Low or TCX Baja mid boots?

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by Jeepster360, Jun 26, 2018.

1. Jeepster360

Jeepster360 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I'm new to adv style riding with a new BMW G310gs. I have never had riding shoes or boots before. I'm not a hard core single track type rider, more a forest service road, logging/fire road type. Gravel & dirt with ruts or washout are common.

I'm looking at one of the three titled boots for some added protection. I would also like to be able to walk or hike some in these boots if possible once I get to my destination.... city or woods. Might even go fishing in some remote spots. Would any of these boots work for that or am i looking for too much versatility from these boots? Any help would be appreciated.

John
  2. PeterW

PeterW Long timer

Oddometer:
    Forma adventures are O.K. for walking and I found them O.K. for worse than just dirt roads. There are more protective boots but you trade off lack of flexibility for that protection and IMHO that increases the chance of crashing in the first place. It's easier to avoid injury if you don't crash so ...

I can't comment on the others, but pretty much anything that offers full ankle protection will save you from MOST injuries, beyond that the cost/benefit drops off.

Competitive riding the balance is different, you'll be outriding your skill level (if not you'll never improve) and crashes are more or less inevitable from that.
    Jeepster360 likes this.
  3. cyclopathic

cyclopathic Long timer

Oddometer:
    Not Forma. I have adv low loved them for fit but they are not waterproof leaked within 6mo.
    Maverick2076 likes this.
  4. Jeepster360

Oddometer:
    How did they hold up otherwise?

John
  5. Keyser Soze 1

Keyser Soze 1 Been here awhile

Oddometer: