An Aussie Abroad - (Taking Lucy Home, from Chile to the US)

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by Junipertravels, Jul 21, 2019.

1. Junipertravels

Junipertravels Adventurer

Oddometer:
    G'day and welcome to my Ride Report! I'm not sure I'm much of a writer, but here goes... :hmmmmm

20190718_085249.jpg

...so I'm a 30 year old engineer from the Land Downunder, I quit my job, sold all my possessions and bought a motorbike in Chile. And I'm going to ride it to the US, eventually. I love travelling (I mean who doesn't...) and I love motorbikes - combining the two just made sense. A Pan American motorbike journey has been one of my far fetched dreams for a while now, the type my mates often rolled their eyes at

As I write this I'm sitting inside a Chilean cafe, numb from the cold fingers trying to type on my laptop, watching the rain fall on my new motorbike. I'm struggling to pinpoint the "It all began when" moment to start this blog. There is a string of influences that led up to this. My mountain bike, which gave 14yo me my first taste at freedom, a bike which I would later equip for large interstate camping adventures. The motorbike mum loaned to me when I finished university, kick starting my motorbiking enthusiasm. My uncle who I would frequently visit to for riding adventures - the same Uncle who spends 3 months a year riding his Tracer across Europe. ...I guess my "It all began with" moment was sometime in December last year when, within a few weeks of each other, a handful of friends got engaged

The subsequent wedding invitations revealed 5 international weddings to attend. Without sufficient annual leave I concluded that quitting and travelling for a year could be a good solution (I mean I am a millennial after all). Shortly after this I discovered the advrider.com website and the Epic Ride Report section. Stories of inmates doing this inspired me and made me consider it, and eventually obsess over it...

This pretty much explains me...