Android app that takes motorcycle/adventurous routes?

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by BristolDSer, Jul 31, 2019.

  1. BristolDSer

    BristolDSer Honda CB500X European Explorer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Oddometer:
    22
    Location:
    Bristol
    I'm at the point of buying a Zumo or a waterproof android phone.

    What puts me off the android phone, is so far I didn't see an app that routes via adventurous roads.

    I've also not tried this personally with the Garmin, so don't know if it's a non issue... But it would be cool to have the freedom to put in a 6 hour route with just one endpoint and let the software pick the best roads when I don't have time to draw a route.

    Thoughts?
    #1
  2. worwig

    worwig Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,891
    Location:
    Hog Mountain
    Kurviger may do what you want.
    #2
  3. plumer1kt

    plumer1kt Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,250
    Location:
    Hellas
    #3
  4. 919nick

    919nick Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Oddometer:
    243
    Location:
    Reidsville, NC
    Kurviger or Tomtom app.
    #4
  5. gzrglyde

    gzrglyde Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2017
    Oddometer:
    136
    Location:
    Florida
    So what is the verdict on Kurviger? How about some reports?
    #5
  6. TripleTriples

    TripleTriples Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Oddometer:
    675
    Location:
    OH
    I just downloaded it and started farting around a little.

    Seems pretty decent if you're just looking to avoid boring roads.

    One thing I wish it had was a "favor dirt" button.
    #6
    flamingm0e likes this.
  7. turtlespeed

    turtlespeed Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Oddometer:
    30
    Location:
    NJ
    also check out calimoto... not free, subscription based.
    #7
  8. chrisjk

    chrisjk Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Oddometer:
    667
    Location:
    NW Kent, UK
    Kurviger is King! It keeps getting better too as the developer is super responsive/active.
    #8
  9. mslim

    mslim If it's worth doing... it's worth overdoing

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,250
    Location:
    Austin of the Ozarks
    I'm still on the fence with Kurviger Pro. Yesterday I set up a route https://kurv.gr/ww5VH There was a erroneous turn voice prompt that sent me to a dead end road. I imagine it wasn't the fault of Kurviger itself but rather it was whatever database it was using (maybe OSM). I turned around and got a "route missed" prompt. Once I started going on a viable detour it seemed the app couldn't offer an alternate routing. With Waze you get a little beep sound and it immediately tries alternate routing to get you to your next waypoint.

    Has anyone else experienced this problem with Kurviger?
    #9
  10. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,375
    Location:
    alabama

    that's not a route, it's only routing points.

    the algorithm, map, and point locations all will change what happens with that.

    your points are blue, my route is green.
    Screenshot_20191008-174017.png
    give this a shot and see how kurviger handles it

    Attached Files:

    #10
    mslim likes this.
  11. mslim

    mslim If it's worth doing... it's worth overdoing

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,250
    Location:
    Austin of the Ozarks
    Did I make a mistake when importing it into the app? What options or settings should I have chosen in the Import Route screen so that the app will correct and update? I see the Overlay and Routing subheadings. What does extend route mean? I'm sorry if I sound a little thick on this but I am. I've never understood the difference between a route and a track and BaseCamp totally eludes me. I OK with a map and compass and a GPS.
    #11
  12. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,375
    Location:
    alabama

    when you import routing POINTS the gps/gps app guesses the best way to shape a "route"to reach one.


    when you import a track, it's already plotted. well, the same can be said for a route, but generally speaking a "route"in the world of Garmin means everyone ends up with something different.

    i don't waste time with basecamp anymore.
    #12
    Albie, filterx and mslim like this.
  13. Albie

    Albie Kool Aid poisoner

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Oddometer:
    15,407
    Location:
    NWA
    Heh, Just updated my Macs to Catalina. No 32 bit apps work on the new OS. Oh well deleted BC and some other ancient software I don't use anymore. I know they do have a 64 bit version for MAC OS, but I doubt I'm gonna waste the HD space. :lol2
    #13