Another "Which GPS to buy question"

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by Briani, Dec 25, 2001.

1. Briani

Briani n00b

Oddometer:
    I've been reading the posts and it looks like the faviorite manufacturer is the Garmin, but I haven't found anything on the Magellin or Loran units.

Any thoughs on these, or is my best 'hand-held' bet the Garmin GPS 3+, or the V??

Thanks in advance.

:beer
    Beer, it not just for breakfast anymore.....
  2. fish

fish Banned

Oddometer:
    Hi Briani,

While I may lead a sheltered life, I've only ever seen one Magellan mounted to a motorcycle, and that was up at Redmond. I don't think I've ever seen a Loran.

Garmins are known quantities...they are rugged, waterproof and have good user interfaces. The one Magellan I played with prior to buying my first GPS had a very clunky feel to it and I just couldn't figure out how to use it. Conversely, I started playing with a Streetpilot, and no manual needed...it was quite obvious which buttons did what. So...one vote for Garmin here.
  3. dapolrbear

dapolrbear Buddah Head Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Garmin.

Either the III+ or newer V will do.

The V will give more functions and better street to street directions. I will confirm what Fishy sez, they are quite rugged and very user friendly.
  4. JohnTM

JohnTM I suck toes

Oddometer: