Any other mac users having issues connecting? Firefox issue? Starlink issue?

Discussion in 'Ask Baldy, Blame Cannonshot' started by TrailTrauma, Feb 26, 2021.

  1. TrailTrauma

    TrailTrauma Nemophilist Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Oddometer:
    7,195
    Location:
    Planet Fucking Earth
    Man, it's been a few weeks since I was able to load pages consistently without without my connection to advrider dropping. Happens about 40% of the time I switch pages, try and 'like' a post etc.

    Umma bout ready to shoot myself in the face!

    Macbook Pro 16 macOS Big Sur 11.2.2

    Firefox Developer Edition Build 87.0b3 64-bit

    By now I've run down every potential solution I could find online, or dream up.

    I'm just really curious if a fellow Mac user, or even a Firefox user has been experiencing the same problem connecting to advrider in the past 2-3 weeks. I mean I was golden one hour, and connection hell the next. Advrider pages went from loading instantly to not at all some times.

    If it isn't Firefox or a plugin (though I rebooted into safe mode, and tried without plugins etc and no dice), and it isn't Mac related then I thought it may be because I switched to Starlink internet shortly before. My issues didn't start directly after Starlink .. there was a good break between these two things.

    And I did reach out to admins here, they looked into it and everything seems good on their end.

    I get this error constantly:

    Screen Shot 2021-02-26 at 23.56.05.png
    #1
  2. PhilSpace

    PhilSpace The Ex-Gov

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Oddometer:
    36,136
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    No issues here. Check your DNS setting or try the generic google or Cisco DNS and see if it an issue resolving the address, DNS cache, or just a connection issue.
    #2
  3. sleazy rider

    sleazy rider Green thumbed fool

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Oddometer:
    5,445
    Location:
    Snowbird in Houston, TX
    Mac user here. iOS and High Sierra using Chrome browser - no issue at all.
    #3
  4. AG200man

    AG200man AG200 Nutjob

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Oddometer:
    389
    Location:
    Vic. Australia
    Using the same as you...mac + firefox, never got that error here.
    #4
  5. gmk999

    gmk999 ____ as a Rotax

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Oddometer:
    5,989
    Location:
    New England
    Mac/ safari/duck duck go. here . My only issue is the page jumping around as ads open midpage . Makes it hard to follow a thread and read a long RR.
    #5
  6. TripleTriples

    TripleTriples Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Oddometer:
    1,937
    Location:
    OH
    "Having trouble finding" could indicate a dns problem, which would probably be your ISPs fault, unless you're pointing to another provider for it.
    #6
  7. TrailTrauma

    TrailTrauma Nemophilist Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Oddometer:
    7,195
    Location:
    Planet Fucking Earth
    At least other are doing fine. Must be on my end I guess. I'm focusing on my network, the Starlink variable, and Firefox. Changing one thing at a time, for 2 weeks now, in the hopes it no longer occurs. But so far every 3 click on this site is a fail to connect.

    Also might be something I installed off github, which I'll look at or uninstall altogether.

    I appreciate the feedback guys, thanks.
    #7
  8. sleazy rider

    sleazy rider Green thumbed fool

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Oddometer:
    5,445
    Location:
    Snowbird in Houston, TX
    Clear the browser cache and browsing history?
    #8
  9. TrailTrauma

    TrailTrauma Nemophilist Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Oddometer:
    7,195
    Location:
    Planet Fucking Earth
    Yup. Tried it to no avail.


    It's up to about every 3rd or 4th page attempt just hangs. Anywhere from 15 seconds to infinity. Super fucking annoying. But the moment I switch to my VPN, I'm ok, and the pages load right up.

    Issue is I don't want to be on my VPN as a rule. Makes it challenging to do other tasks necessary on a regular basis.
    #9
  10. MtnRoamer

    MtnRoamer Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Oddometer:
    335
    Location:
    Oregon
    Same. I load thousands of sites a week on this system and advrider is the only one I have consistent problems with on Starlink. The Browser, Computer, Operating System, or Router does not seem to matter (I have access to several of each).
    #10
  11. motokeith

    motokeith Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,186
    Location:
    Falcon, CO
    Open the Firefox dev tools and select "Network" and then browse around. When you get the "having trouble" page look and see what actual HTTP error code was returned for the page load. Report back.
    #11
  12. MtnRoamer

    MtnRoamer Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Oddometer:
    335
    Location:
    Oregon
    I suspect the slow image will be more interesting vs the timeout. I was able to duplicate the slowness on the initial call a number of times, and as you can see the subsequent calls happen quickly. The timeout is likely a result of the load time being so slow that it reaches the browsers default timeout. I can wrangle up a tcpdump, but it might not provide any additional useful data based on what I see here.

    advrider_slow.jpg advrider_timeout.jpg
    #12
  13. MtnRoamer

    MtnRoamer Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Oddometer:
    335
    Location:
    Oregon
    I suspect this could be a slightly different issue. The Starlink Advrider issue is rather binary (i.e. it either loads or it does not).
    #13
  14. kneesels

    kneesels Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Oddometer:
    89
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    cannot access advrider with Mac, says something to the effect that warning certificate expired etc. I can access with PC. tried Mac and PC both while at work no go for Mac but can access with PC. Suggestions?
    #14
  15. kneesels

    kneesels Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Oddometer:
    89
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    never mind it has started working
    #15
  16. MtnRoamer

    MtnRoamer Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Oddometer:
    335
    Location:
    Oregon
    I suspect you should be good now. It started working for me consistently just recently (given the number of variables I am not exactly sure what the fix was).
    #16
    TrailTrauma likes this.
  17. TrailTrauma

    TrailTrauma Nemophilist Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Oddometer:
    7,195
    Location:
    Planet Fucking Earth


    Thanks for the heads up. At first glance, after surfing several threads just now without using my VPN is seems fine. Time will tell. But I won't not be surfing without the VPN, so it may be moot at this point. I bought a 3 yr VPN plan some time ago, and Starlink, ironically made that feasible. My other dinosaur of a Sat internet provider was so slow there was no way a VPN was feasible.
    #17