Any Taswegian Lurkers???

Discussion in 'Australia' started by allanmcgill, May 10, 2004.

1. allanmcgill

allanmcgill Frustrated Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Are there any Tasmanian Advriders who can help me with information as I am new to the state?

I have recently moved from Queensland and am wanting some practical advice on some suitable gear to keep myself from freezing. Where is a shop with a wide selection of gear? Who knows what they are selling and will sell me the right gear, not something totally useless in the real world?

Thanks
  2. mitch

mitch Long timer

Oddometer:
    PM jackafrica he should be able to help. :wink:
  3. Mick Fagan

Mick Fagan Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    You may find that the best range of goods will be either, a shop in Melbourne, or, if you know your size and like the BMW range of goodies then mail order some of their stuff.

I'll try and find some Tasmanian friends who may be able to help. I know a few, we'll see what they bring up.

Hows the last mile into Queenstown? Looks pretty now that the trees are growing back.

Some very rugged terrain in that part of the world and most of it unexplored, literally.

Mick.
  4. Alchemist

Alchemist Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I was born in Tassie, does that count :D . Seems last time I was there most of the good shops were in Launceston for some reason, but surely there must be some decent ones in Hobart. Where are you.

Could also think about Internet sales. I just used to use several layers, footie jumpers, and a big raincoat over the top to stop the wind. You might also try some of the sailing shops. Clothing for that is good for keeping warm and dry (but not much protection)....and there are bucketloads of sailing shops around Tassie.
  5. LKYPHL

LKYPHL Been here awhile

Oddometer: