Anyone tried these VMX brand rims on a GS/A?

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by iCD55, Jul 31, 2020 at 3:24 PM.

1. iCD55

iCD55 Still Kickin'

Oddometer:
    I have been considering some new wire rims for my 2017 1200GS. While Woody's Wheel Worx seems to be the "go to" source for these, I came across these VMX brand rims for the R1200:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/VMX-3-0-19...rentrq:a6ed3de71730aad9817d4e0affded842|iid:1

https://vmx-racing.com/

They claim to be from the same factory (China I would expect) that BMW uses for the stock rims. (Hmmmm :hmmmmm)

I've seen some chatter elsewhere in the dirt bike world that sounded like they are of decent quality. Seems that they are branded as VMX and KKE rims.

Anyone with any experience using these rims?
    pistole likes this.
  2. ExodusRider

ExodusRider ExodusRider

Oddometer:
    If you're gonna spend $2k for these.. you might as well spend abit more and get the Woody Wheels that are proven, domestic, and supported... and much stronger than OEM..
    Djunta and slow24 like this.
  3. Lead Wrist

Lead Wrist Mehr Gelände Weniger Straße

Oddometer:
    Check the flea market - parts subforum for what's available and/or post WTB ad - you may be able to find OE or Woody's set for similar money if not less...

There was recently a set of black wire-spoked wheels off of LC GS/A available for $1500-1600 which may be better buy than those chinesium wheels - ymmv... :deal
  4. Nogoodnamesleft

Nogoodnamesleft Long timer

Oddometer:
    sellers feedback isn’t that great, especially for a risk on a product at that price.
    I’d take a gamble on a chinesium cover or guard etc,
    but something that could lead to a long walk, nah, not for me.

straight away I wouldn’t trust bearing quality, corners gotta be cut somewhere to match price.
    Then trusting spoke tension. Just too unknown for peace of mind.

Edit, forgot, the script and Diction here, may reflect the level of quality. Dunno.