1. Adventure Rider Print Magazine!
    We're doing a print magazine this November - 128 pages of high quality adventure riding stories, photography and interviews!

    Click here to purchase a copy for $9. Limited copies still available.
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone use an old school intercom between house and garage?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by ChopperCharles, May 25, 2020.

  1. ChopperCharles

    ChopperCharles Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Oddometer:
    5,752
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    I have phone lines and cable run out to my garage by the previous owner. I don’t even have a home phone hooked up anymore, but the wiring is still everywhere. I’m Thinking it would be nice for someone in the house to be able to call me to dinner without having to put shoes on and walk across The yard to the garage to get me.

    Do these still exist? Inexpensively? :)

    Bonus points if it’s wood grain and looks straight out of 1973.

    Charles.
    #1
    spokester and RetiredandRiding like this.
  2. RetiredandRiding

    RetiredandRiding Retired to Ride Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,614
    Location:
    Left Coast, United States of Covid
    It’s a cool idea. We just call on cellphone using a free app that allows for VOIP, e.g. WeChat, Zalo, Viber, or Skype
    #2
    CodeMonkee likes this.
  3. TripleTriples

    TripleTriples Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Oddometer:
    1,529
    Location:
    OH
    When I was a kid, my dad just put a doorbell in the garage with a button to ring it in the house and would pick up the phone when someone rang it.
    #3
  4. lkraus

    lkraus Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,639
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Google will find plenty of products, but the "inexpensively" requirement might be a problem.

    We use a Vtech cordless handset system with push-to-talk capability. I can call specific handsets (we have six), or send out a "all handsets" announcement when I'm not sure where my wife is working. The base unit plugs into the landline, but also connects via Bluetooth to both of our cell phones, so they can stay on their chargers near the base while calls can be made and received on any of the handsets. Phone calls can be placed on hold while using the intercom features. Range from base to handset is at least 150 feet. It's a lot more flexible than a wired intercom would be.
    #4
  5. ChopperCharles

    ChopperCharles Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Oddometer:
    5,752
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Hrm, the doorbell idea would work. And I could tie it into my actual doorbell so I can hear when someone arrives when i'm out back in the garage.

    Still, my place is mid century modern, so a vintage style intercom (wall mounted, no handset) would be my first choice. Not looking for wireless, the distance is too far from the house to the garage.

    Charles.
    #5
  6. TripleTriples

    TripleTriples Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Oddometer:
    1,529
    Location:
    OH
    Got a couple of old telephones laying around?

    You could put the guts in a wooden box and then "lift the handset" with a button wired into a normally closed relay connected to the "hang up" switch on the phone.

    Pressing the button would be like lifting the handset. I've never tried, but I assume that so long as there's voltage on the phone line, it should work fine.
    #6
  7. 2000RSV

    2000RSV Go Fast, Go Long Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Oddometer:
    6,147
    Location:
    FDL, WI
    2 cans, long string. :thumbup

    Truly old school.
    #7
  8. Petzl

    Petzl Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Oddometer:
    310
    Location:
    Long Island NY
  9. Ge-Mini-gun

    Ge-Mini-gun Long timer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Oddometer:
    1,022
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    Years ago a buddy's dad had two military field phones with the cranks, one in garage and the other on the back screened porch. Looking back I would love to have them just to play with.
    #9
    spokester and trumpet like this.
  10. sanjoh

    sanjoh Purveyor of Light

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,022
    Location:
    ADVmonster, CFL, WNC
    Why do you want anyone bothering you while in the garage?
    #10
    spokester and kwthom like this.
  11. kwthom

    kwthom NOT CV-19 infected; 3x tested!! >:0

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Oddometer:
    7,697
    Location:
    Jaynes Station, AZ
  12. jbloom

    jbloom n00b

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Put an Alexa in the garage and another in the house. In the garage you can use it to play music, set timers, etc.

    In the house people can use it to "drop in" to the garage and let you know that dinners ready. Bonus is that you can do everything handsfree, especially handy when you've got oil or paint on your hands.

    If the house <-> garage is too far for wifi use one of the phone lines as an ethernet cable to bring connect another wifi hotspot in the garage.
    #12
    magnussonh likes this.
  13. FluffyDog1969

    FluffyDog1969 n00b

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2020
    Oddometer:
    3
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    I don't know about wood grain and 1973, but I used to install Aiphone intercom units. Not real expensive, but good. Perhaps add some wood grain contact paper or hide it in a box of wheaties
    #13
  14. ChopperCharles

    ChopperCharles Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Oddometer:
    5,752
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    "Sweetie can I get you anything?"
    "Yes, a beer please."

    "Sweetie, dinner is ready"
    "Awww yaaaasssss"

    Charles.
    #14
  15. ChopperCharles

    ChopperCharles Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Oddometer:
    5,752
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    I'm in Application Security. I won't own an Alexa device. Also as I said the wifi doesn't extend to the garage.

    Charles.
    #15
    SnowMule likes this.
  16. ChopperCharles

    ChopperCharles Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Oddometer:
    5,752
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Ooooh, vintage radio shack, I never thought of that.

    I really like the looks of these two:

    43-216A (wired)
    [​IMG]


    43-212 (FM wireless, basically plug-in walkie-talkies)

    [​IMG]

    Looks like I can still buy either set new in the box or used and tested for not a whole lot of money.

    Charles.
    #16
    playinatwork, spokester and GPD323 like this.
  17. Bigbob1

    Bigbob1 Rain Rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,018
    Location:
    Juneau Alaska
    We used the wireless Radio shack units years ago. They worked fine for us.
    #17
  18. Riteris

    Riteris Dessert Runner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Oddometer:
    5,514
    Location:
    A place many ADV Riders fear: The Nation's Capital
    I don’t know if it would be MCMy enough for you but how about a vintage Nutone Intercom system?
    #18
  19. sanjoh

    sanjoh Purveyor of Light

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,022
    Location:
    ADVmonster, CFL, WNC
    Text, more better. Do you want to touch the intercom with dirty hands?

    So I just tossed my vtech phone set. It had a nice intercom. Had a page function. 2.4ghz would reach several hundred yards.
    #19
  20. ChopperCharles

    ChopperCharles Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Oddometer:
    5,752
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Nah I can always mash the intercom with an elbow. Texts are terrible. I don’t hear the tone half the time and I’d have to reach into my pocket with filthy hands. Once my garage is complete I’ll use one of these setups. I’ll check nutone too.

    Charles.
    #20