Aotearoa New Zealand on a WR250R

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by TuckerNZ, Nov 30, 2020.

1. TuckerNZ

TuckerNZ Adventurer

Oddometer:
    It's been some time coming.

I sat in the office for over a year now dreaming of a big ride. Bags loaded up, responsibilities disregarded, career on hold and just the freedom of two wheels and the trail ahead.

The original plan was to criss-cross the USA utilising the BDR routes, TAT and CDT for my first big foray into ADVriding, but COVID, like for so many others, threw a spanner in the works. With international travel pretty much out of the option, and the relatively contained (at present) COVID situation in NZ, I decided I'd go for it. Travel my own country, see my own backyard.

By way of background, I'm a 27 year old kiwi who enjoys two wheels and a throttle. I graduated from law school just over 4 years ago now and have been practicing since in commercial law. It's been a ride with plenty of ups and downs and long hours - and now it's time to get out and explore. Cut loose (for a bit). So I quit my job.

Coming from a motocross/enduro background, I was drawn to the WR250R. Aside from being a Yamaha, it's lightweight, doesn't have too much power, but has just enough. I guess I'll find out if it was the right choice at the end of the trip.

Given I've got no real constraints (just money), I'm going to be playing it by ear as far as route and destinations. As far off the beaten track as possible will be the goal - and to make it up, around and through both of NZ's beautiful islands.

NZ has a pretty well established ADVriding community and I'm blessed that avid riders have prepared and shared many tracks across the country which I'll utilise. Cheers fellas.

I'll post a few pics of the bike and gear up in the next couple of days/weeks as I'm prepping the bike before heading off mid December.