Appropriate bike choices for travelling across North America and beyond?

Discussion in 'Americas' started by Spyrothedragon9972, Sep 29, 2021.

1. Spyrothedragon9972

Spyrothedragon9972 Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hello everyone. I've been a street bike person and I've toured a little bit on a naked bike, but I'm now planning a cross Canada road trip with a friend of mine who's only owned ADV bikes. I sort of have this idea in my head that I want to ride the seemingly endless number of trails that surround me in the Ottawa Valley, Quebec region on a dual sport. Thing is, some of these trails are up to 3 hours away. I was hoping that if I found a bike that could fit that role, that I could also ride is across the country with my friend on his V-Strom 1000. I have no experience with dual sports or ADV bikes, but I'm realizing that I may be looking for the impossible.

The closest thing I could find was Honda's CRF300L Rally, but I don't really think a 300cc is anyone's idea of a worthy cross country machine, even if it may be a stellar bike for backroads and trails. If only they made a 400-450 version with a street engine.

I also happen to think that riding trails on a 400+ lbs bike would be leaving a lot of fun on the table, so to speak, but again, I have no experience with this.

Is there a bike that could do both jobs are am I legitimately better off buying myself 2 separate bikes? I'm on a fairly limited budget, so I definitely need to sacrifice something.

If I were to focus on getting a bike that could handle travelling across Canada and the U.S. and maybe even someday South America, while also being capable of really exploring off the paved roads, what direction would you point me in?

I don't exactly have the best experience dealing with my carbureted bike, so I definitely have a pretty strong preference for bikes with EFI.

Thank you for your time.
  2. dave0

dave0 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Maybe something along the line of a KTM 790?