Back To Scotland, First Time Solo (Pic Heavy)

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Day Trippin'' started by Kebabmonster, May 1, 2019.

1. Kebabmonster

Kebabmonster Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hello all. First off, a bit about myself.

My name is Andy. I live in North East England, and have been riding bikes about 9 years, I was late starter (mid life crisis so some say haha). As you might see as you read this, I ramble on a bit at the start, but I try to explain things through where I can. Once the riding starts, I'll try to keep it brief. Apologies if the initial explaining isn't for you.

I've done about 6 or 7 tours of Scotland (and a couple to mainland Europe) over the last few years. These have always been with my mates, or 3 times I had my son riding pillion. He was 13 when we did the first, 15 when we did the last in 2017. Here's a couple of pics from those trips with Nathan:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I've never done a solo trip before, not even 1 overnight stay. Reading a lot of solo RRs on here got me thinking about doing a solo ride up there. I had a read of part of the thread on here about solo travel, and decided I might as well give it a whirl. Just after Christmas, I decided to start putting a few things in place. The way the UK bank holidays work this year, with Easter being fairly late, and May Day on the 6th of May, I'd read that if you book 9 days holiday in, you get 18 days off from Good Friday to May Day. As we work a flexi system, I knew I could accrue enough time for a flexi day to be included in this, so I'd only need 8 days annual leave. Result. I decided a 5 night/6 day trip would be sorted out beginning the 25th of April. Now as some on here will know, you cannot guarantee decent weather in Scotland in July let alone April, so you're always in the lap of the gods with it, but I knew I wouldn't be needing the sun cream.