Baja Bound in November

Discussion in 'Americas' started by liv2day, Aug 28, 2018.

1. liv2day

liv2day Life is about how you handle Plan B Supporter

Oddometer:
    I've been dreaming of riding in Baja for many, many years. The big hook was set when my wife and I visited Loreto for our 10th anniversary; combine that with reports from @BigDogAdventures, @Moto Vaquero, @tilliejacques, @climberevan, and others and this bucket list item hit the top.

I've gone back through several reports and searched for Baja tracks in the navigation forum in my research thus far, a couple folks have kindly shared their tracks and I'm going to buy the E32 maps. I figured it was time to throw a thread up here and ask for help as this is a bit more daunting than the multi-day trips I've planned in my home state.

A bit of info to help the frame the request for input/feedback/etc. I'll be hauling my WR250 (4.7g tank) to the border with a couple guys. One buddy will be on a Tiger 800 who's potentially riding 2-up with his g/f (not confirmed, but likely). His buddy will be on a WR400. All of us are good/experienced off-road riders, and my buddy riding 2-up can handle most anything on the terrain front (except boulder fields and super deep sand).

We're going to cross the border in Tecate and have 6 days to get from there to Loreto (my family is flying in as we're doing a 9 day family vacation in the middle of the ride). When it's time to drop my family off at the airport, we have 5-6 days to get back to Tecate and start the haul north.

Aside from making it from Tecate to San Felipe for the first night, the rest of the trip south to Loreto isn't planned yet (or north from Loreto to Tecate). I'd truly appreciate any input and sharing tracks. @Moto Vaquero's first day from his 21-day report is what I'd like to do for our first day (hoping he'll share that track). I'd like to cross over to the Pacific once (or twice) each way, but don't have much else in the way of "goals".