Basecamp install problems !@#$%^&

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by migilito, Oct 4, 2018.

  1. migilito

    migilito Perpetual NooB

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,551
    Location:
    S-cal
    I just got a new laptop w Windows 10 64bit. I installed Garmin Express and it's on my homepage. However, I'm having no luck installing Basecamp. It simply will not install. It ends up in my download file, but, when I click it, it prompts me to uninstall. Ideas?
    #1
  2. soberjoe

    soberjoe Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Oddometer:
    381
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Is there an option to install a 32bit or 64bit version of BC?

    Are you running a 3rd party anti virus or only the native Windows Defender? Running something like Avast as well as the native anti virus/anti malware program will always cause problems.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    #2
  3. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    8,375
    Location:
    alabama
    that's normal, the new laptop is clairvoyant, just trying to tell you about what's coming next from Basecamp
    #3
    worwig likes this.
  4. Lizzard323

    Lizzard323 Solo rider. Lover of solitude and corn meal.

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Oddometer:
    406
    Location:
    Southeast USA
  5. Motopsychoman

    Motopsychoman Not a total poseur Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Oddometer:
    3,159
    Location:
    Oaklandish
    Mike,
    Just installed BC 4.7.0 (2D version) on my W10 64bit Surface. I believe it is a 32bit app, but that doesn't matter. Works great.
    #5
    FormerOilhead likes this.
  6. Motopsychoman

    Motopsychoman Not a total poseur Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Oddometer:
    3,159
    Location:
    Oaklandish
    Mike, is the laptop running Windows 10 S by any chance? Their new secure version that only allows installers gotten from the Microsoft Store to run? My Surface came that way and I had to turn it off (becomes normal W10 Home).
    I got a different message though: something about cannot install, go to Store and change something or other.

    Go to settings and check if there are any updates that are waiting to install.

    - Marty
    #6
  7. advNZer?

    advNZer? Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,481
    Location:
    Wellington,New Zealand
    dont isntall 4.7 if you want to use anything other than garmin maps or want to be able to use google earth You can get 4.6.2 and read about it here.
    #7
  8. shu

    shu ...

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,563
    Location:
    Colorado
    I have 4.7 and just downloaded some maps of Peru from OSM. No trouble using them on BaseCamp.
    Google Earth, I can bring that up side by side with BaseCamp on my computer screen if I need to. No big deal.

    I like BaseCamp: it has it's idiosyncrasies but seems perfectly workable. You do have to develop a work flow to be efficient with it, but I did and I don't mind.

    .................shu
    #8
  9. advNZer?

    advNZer? Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,481
    Location:
    Wellington,New Zealand
    but have you tried sending those osm maps to your device vis basecamp.That is where 4.7 may disapoint
    #9
  10. shu

    shu ...

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,563
    Location:
    Colorado
    No I haven't. I'll give it a try. Thanks......shu
    #10
  11. shu

    shu ...

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,563
    Location:
    Colorado
    Well, crap. The map is fine on the computer, but sending it to the device I got a message: can't unlock maps and it went downhill from there.

    It looks like a base map made it to device, but that is all.

    ?So....I need to uninstall all Garmin Basecamp programs, and reinstall BaseCamp 462.exe from Perry's site? Will I lose data? other maps? Any advice?

    Thanks..........shu
    #11
  12. Motopsychoman

    Motopsychoman Not a total poseur Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Oddometer:
    3,159
    Location:
    Oaklandish
    You shouldn't lose anything from the uninstall if maps and data are in the default locations. If you selected other locations the files will be there but the reinstalled BaseCamp may not see them.

    Routes may vanish, but if they are still in your GPS, when you resync, they'll reappear.
    #12
  13. shu

    shu ...

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,563
    Location:
    Colorado
    Okay then, instructions for downgrading BaseCamp for others like me (semi computer literate).

    I downgraded to BaseCamp 4.6.2 following these instructions, and it worked, but after opening up BaseCamp to use it, none of my Collection (User Data routes, tracks and waypoints.) was found.


    from...... https://openmtbmap.org/tutorials/basecamp-4-7-0/
    To find the data base use these instructions:

    Anyway, it all works now.

    I re sent my PERU maps to the SD card in my GPS, it complained about not being able to unlock them, but I clicked past that message and they loaded fine. I went into the GPS and looked at the maps and they work.

    Thanks for the info all..............shu
    #13
  14. advNZer?

    advNZer? Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,481
    Location:
    Wellington,New Zealand
    now basecamp will keep asling you to update but you know what(not) to do!This may be the end of my affair with garmin devices which i love for their solid powered mounts and readable screens.I persevere because of the ability to use open maps.Once that relationship ends i am out
    #14
  15. shu

    shu ...

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,563
    Location:
    Colorado
    Yes, I agree.

    I would be happy to buy good maps from Garmin, but a lot of the places I've been (Tajikistan, Ecuador, Mexico for example) the OSM maps are much better. (In fact, the Garmin maps are not much better than the base map.)

    ..............shu
    #15