BaseCamp Tutorial

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by smbjm, Apr 1, 2015.

  1. Blue Mule

    Blue Mule Persistent Slacker

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Oddometer:
    22,749
    Location:
    The Land of Cheese and Beer
    OK, I feel a bit better.

    Managed to make a decent route , load it and ride it.
    a little rough and slow but at least I think I have a very basic clue now.

    this guys videos cleared up a lot of the little weird things that were messing me up and his explanations filled in a few things i'd been missing.

    http://www.poi-factory.com/node/41134
  2. FireDog45

    FireDog45 Mid-life crisis sufferer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,368
    Location:
    Central, Ohio
    The learning curve is a bit steep but once you learn the little tricks its not that bad to use. Perfect...? No but its not bad.
  3. Lutarious

    Lutarious Renaissance Man

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Oddometer:
    383
    Location:
    Oakland
    A question for you all. Im planning a long ride- Oakland, Ca. to Deadwood, S.D. trying.to do as much as possible.on dirt roads, trailz, 4WD roads etc, which only appear on the map when zoomed in really close. I find it hard to stay oriented when Im forced to zoom in and out all the time, and its very tough to follow the longer roads.

    Is there a way to get the small roads to appear on a wider zoom level? Im usi g CNNA on a Macbook with the newest basecamp and riding with a Montan 600, if that matters....
  4. OldRnger

    OldRnger Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Oddometer:
    31
    Location:
    Western Montana
    THANK YOU !!!!!! Super Job. J.
  5. Barry

    Barry Just Beastly

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Oddometer:
    8,515
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, Va.
    Many years ago struggled with MapSource. Have a 590LM coming and glad I have this Basecamp resource, and Ed's page and tutorial to ask questions.

    Thanks for the effort everyone is putting in to teach others.

    Barry
    Rudderfeet likes this.
  6. pckopp

    pckopp Aged Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Oddometer:
    1,444
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I have Basecamp installed on my Win10 machine and it is working fine. I have several GPS units and a variety of maps installed in Basecamp, primarily City Nav versions and various topo maps. All of it works fine.

    My question:

    Is it possible to install my vintage Roads and Rec maps so Bascecamp can manage them like the others?

    Thanks!
  7. 2whlin

    2whlin Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Oddometer:
    361
    I just purchased a Garmin 610. Trying to create routes in remote areas on trails, jeep roads and back roads. Basecamp won't allow me to draw lines on these areas?
  8. DirtSolace

    DirtSolace Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Oddometer:
    106
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    I am not a "power" user w/basecamp as it is still overwhelming for me (3 years later), but just in case I could be helpful: Tracks and Routes are different. It's easy to do Routes with Highways but trails usually respond better to constructing "Tracks". Also, the commands for getting Tracks to continuously connect is also different than the way you more easily make this happen with "Routes".....
  9. 2whlin

    2whlin Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Oddometer:
    361
    yes, I think I see how I will need to create the track first, then create a route from the track. Was just not sure this is the right direction. I'm plotting over 1400 miles in back country so not sure this will be the fastest way to build my route?
  10. 2whlin

    2whlin Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Oddometer:
    361
    Can you shed some light on your comment about the commands for getting Tracks to continuously connect? I'll be working on this for weeks. Figure I will be breaking this up into many smaller routes, but may have to stop making a track then pick back up where I left off.
  11. DirtSolace

    DirtSolace Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Oddometer:
    106
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    I promise I will get back to you on this but its going to be a month+... I haven't worked on Tracks for over a year, and the problem I face (and lots of other places too) is that when I don't work on something for awhile I forget how all the little pieces go together and I have to go thru the nightmare of finding them all again. It will happen however, as I just got the 24K topos for CO and UTah and I'm putting together 6 rides for a Utah trip. I will relearn this stuff no matter what!
  12. 2whlin

    2whlin Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Oddometer:
    361
    HA, yeah, in the same boat, used this stuff a little several years ago for epic DS ride, but that was easier to route since we were mainly on Jeep Roads/country roads. This is all back country, single track/ATV trails with some county and FS roads as well.
    despistao likes this.
  13. Menhir

    Menhir Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Oddometer:
    100
    I've been seeing very recent reports that Garmin has abandoned the development of BaseCamp.
    I hope I'm not just passing along a rumor so I wouldn't advise anyone to get jumpy yet, but I'm curious if anyone here has any further info.
  14. RolyKBiker

    RolyKBiker Road Worrier

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Oddometer:
    280
    Location:
    Foggy London Town.
    Sorry if this is 205 but I am trying to get a route laid out in Basecamp and load it onto my GPS.
    I can set the route with waypoints or the pencil thing but when Basecamp plots the actual roads it keeps adding extraneous loops and one way off shoots.
    Any idea why it goes off route? Having tried the eraser and move point options to no effect I'm thinking of going back to route notes stuck to the screen.
    Many thanks in advance.
  15. 2whlin

    2whlin Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Oddometer:
    361
    you have to turn off certain settings, almost all of them in fact. Then you have plan your trip using TRACKS, not ROUTE, then convert your TRACKS into a route then export both the TRACK and the ROUTE to your GPS device.

    So if GARMIN is abandoning BaseCamp, what are people using to plan trips in back country and single track trail??
  16. smbjm

    smbjm Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Oddometer:
    281
    Location:
    Southern Midcoast Maine
    That's actually not even close to necessary. This Thread was intended for information about the BaseCamp Tutorial from NER not a general catch all for BaseCamp questions. You would do better to ask your questions in a new thread.
  17. Stroked 550

    Stroked 550 Dirt Nut

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,513
    Location:
    Outhere
    Can you plan a trip on base camp and then load it to an android tablet using locus or the like?
  18. cobra46

    cobra46 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Oddometer:
    292
    Location:
    Norcal
    The easier thing to do is plan a trip in Google Earth and import into your GPS device/Tablet.

    Stroked 550 likes this.
  19. chrisjk

    chrisjk Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Oddometer:
    631
    Location:
    NW Kent, UK
    Yes you can. Just save your trip as a gpx file or files and then transfer these to you app of choice, Locus or whatever. This you can do easily using a cable connection or via something like Dropbox or a wireless connection with your android device. You can also mail the file to yourself and open it in Locus on your device.
    Stroked 550 likes this.
  20. Stroked 550

    Stroked 550 Dirt Nut

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,513
    Location:
    Outhere
    that would be awesome to use google earth but sadly my current laptop freezes everytime I open it up...
    on edit: i took the plunge into my wallet and bought a new better laptop I cant wait until it gets here so I can play with google earth


    thanks Chris for the info