BaseCamp vs. Mapsource

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by MYT1, Feb 6, 2012.

  1. ramz

    ramz Professional Trail Rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,999
    Location:
    Salida, CO
    Let me add, for BaseCamp on the Mac:

    EVERYTHING that you import goes into My Collection, and then into a list. If you subsequently delete the list, the contents are still in My Collection, unless you elect to delete them when you get this message "Delete this list's unique items from My Collection?"

    So very early on, I imported a file, worked on it a while, then deleted the list. Later, I imported a file with the same name as previously imported (Current Track). After editing for a while, I decided to export the file then delete it from BC. A little later I was browsing My Collection and there were the two files - Current Track and Current Track 001. I know I knew this was supposed to happen, but it caught me by surprise.

    Then I went through My Collection and deleted all the other unwanted data that I found.

    I still don't always catch this behavior as I work but I clean up every now and then. (I edit a lot of Current Track files. Waypoints are worse; I'm always erasing waypoints from my GPSr and after a data collection ride, seeing 001, 002, etc.)

    I dread loading all my old data - I'll have to do a bunch of editing first. I saved a lot a data and just changed the file name on MacOSX so they appear unique, but the tracks inside the files are what BaseCamp sees. Fortunately, I use BBEdit and it makes quick work of renaming waypoints, but track names I have to do manually.

    Just don't forget, everything is in my Collection and BC won't forget :eek1
    #21
  2. DRTBYK

    DRTBYK All Things GPS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    8,280
    Location:
    +47.352472, -121.941635
    If the Tracks you have are from the GPS Track Log then you should have no duplicate names since they will be "named" by Time Stamp and therefore all unique.

    I sometimes forget to delete data from My Collection but what helps me is to use the Map. If I delete a "working" folder expecting to remove all data from My Collection, before I move the Map from that "working" area, I simply click on My Collection. If the data shows on the Map, I can then select it on the map and delete it for good.

    BaseCamp is a database not a file editor like MapSource. You will acquire new methods for creating, changing and deleting your data.

    Cheers,
    #22
  3. wbbnm

    wbbnm Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Oddometer:
    6,217
    Location:
    MN and NM
    I have decided to give BC a try since I have a little time on my hands. I can only find a download for version 3.2.2. I would really like to try the latest Beta version.

    Anybody know where to find it. This did not work. I got a message saying the site no longer exists.

    http://developer.garmin.com/apps/BC/BaseCamp_3.3.0.2_Beta.exe

    Edit: I need it for a PC not a MAC.
    #23
  4. DRTBYK

    DRTBYK All Things GPS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    8,280
    Location:
    +47.352472, -121.941635
    That's because you didn't look in the Windows Beta thread at Garmin Forums. Here's the link for Win-BC v3.3.0.3

    Note that the Beta will install separate from the released version so you will have two BC's if you have v3.2.2 installed.

    Cheers,
    #24
  5. eakins

    eakins Butler Maps

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Oddometer:
    37,833
    Location:
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    so i'm clear.
    i have a .gdb route created with mapsource.
    will basecamp open/translate this or not?
    if not, talk about a major compatibility FU from garmin.
    so if not then do you resave as .gpx?
    thnx!
    #25
  6. ramz

    ramz Professional Trail Rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,999
    Location:
    Salida, CO
    On my Montana, the current track is not time stamped, it's called "Current.gpx" (NOT "Current Track" as I said previously, oops). If I save it, it gets a time stamp, but if I don't want to manually save it but just get a copy of the current active file and start editing, then I get the 001, 002 thingo on BaseCamp. As you mention, files are time stamped, but only those in the Archive folder, as far as I can tell, and these are no problemo in BC.

    I usually don't turn on my Montana with the power button, but instead plug in the USB cable connected to my Mac and jump right onto the mass storage volume to get the current track. I let the Montana archive and save the current track according to it's schedule.

    BTW, I've never pinned down when the new day starts - 00:00:00 local time or UTC time. One of these nights, I plan to watch time roll over at local midnight and then I'll know.
    ----------------------------
    One question - what is the "GPS Track Log"? I can't see anything on the Montana display labeled such nor on the mass storage volume when connected to my Mac.

    On the Montana, when I click 'Track Manager' I get a list of tracks and something called 'Archived Tracks' which is actually a folder containing time-stamped archived tracks but I don't actually see a 'GPS Track Log' anywhere.

    On the mass storage volume, I see a folder named 'GPX' which has the 'Archive' folder which holds the archived tracks and I see a 'Current' folder, but again, no 'GPS Track Log'.

    What am I missing?
    #26
  7. DRTBYK

    DRTBYK All Things GPS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    8,280
    Location:
    +47.352472, -121.941635
    What ever gave you the idea that BaseCam would not import a GDB file? BaseCamp's database is a GDB "file" - all be it a special one.

    BC will import GPX, GDB, CVS, TCX (and KML when v3.3.1 is released).

    Cheers,
    #27
  8. DRTBYK

    DRTBYK All Things GPS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    8,280
    Location:
    +47.352472, -121.941635
    "GPS Track Log is a generic name for the Archive folder and the "current Track". So, as you noted, depending upon how you have your Archive setup, you will see Tracks in the Archive folder with TimeStamp names and a track in the "Current" file.

    Cheers,
    #28
  9. DRTBYK

    DRTBYK All Things GPS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    8,280
    Location:
    +47.352472, -121.941635
    BaseCamp v3.3.1 is now available. If you have BC installed it will inform you that this is the case. Otherwise, you can go to this BaseCamp link to download. If it's not posted there yet give them a little time.

    Cheers,
    #29
  10. tbirdsp

    tbirdsp REMF

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Oddometer:
    8,950
    Location:
    Nebraska
    DRTBYK - Thanks in advance for your patience:D

    My current process for loading a specific group of waypoints/routes to my Nuvi 500: I create a .gdb file in Mapsource with my desired items, connect the GPS to my PC, then I do a "save as" with the .gdb file (but I change the file type to .gpx) specifying the location as the Garmin>GPX folder on the microSD card in the Nuvi. So I end up with a .gpx copy of my .gdb file on the card.

    Can this be done with Basecamp Win?
    #30
  11. wbbnm

    wbbnm Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Oddometer:
    6,217
    Location:
    MN and NM
    Dan, thanks I found it and loaded it and have started playing with it.

    When learning something new like this I always try to find out the answers to my questions be searching around and even resorting to the Help feature.

    But so far I haven't been able to figure out what corresponds to the Mapsource Detail level. I did find some sliding bars in the Display Option screen. But they didn't do what I wanted.

    My problem now is that City Navigator does not display minor roads until I zoom down to .2 mi. In Mapsource it displayed them at 1 mi. I have a similar problem with Topos. Any hints on how to adjust this?
    #31
  12. tbirdsp

    tbirdsp REMF

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Oddometer:
    8,950
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Just started playing with BC 3.3.1 for Windows. Try this: View>Toolbars>Detail Level. Check the box and you get a drop down menu in the upper left with map detail levels like Mapsource.
    #32
  13. wbbnm

    wbbnm Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Oddometer:
    6,217
    Location:
    MN and NM
    Thanks. That worked. I am getting City Nav minor roads at a 5 mile zoom. This will really be useful.

    With detail at "Higher" I don't get any business symbols. They don't show up until "Highest".
    #33
  14. ramz

    ramz Professional Trail Rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,999
    Location:
    Salida, CO
    I recently started BaseCamp Mac and was prompted to load the new version, which I did. But somewhere along the way, I missed the list of changes. So I had a look at the BaseCamp Win forum and read their list of changes. Comparing their list to my BaseCamp Mac, I see lots of differences. I understand that the two versions are different, but I was suprised how different.

    Does anyone know where I can find the list of changes for BaseCamp Mac 3.3.1 so I can get a better idea of the differences?
    #34
  15. tbirdsp

    tbirdsp REMF

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Oddometer:
    8,950
    Location:
    Nebraska
    #35
  16. ramz

    ramz Professional Trail Rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,999
    Location:
    Salida, CO
    #36
  17. DRTBYK

    DRTBYK All Things GPS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    8,280
    Location:
    +47.352472, -121.941635
    The download pages have not been updated yet. If you install the last-Beta, v3.3.0.2, it will automatically download the latest update (v3.3.1). When the update starts the install, it will show you the changes.

    Cheers,
    #37
  18. tbirdsp

    tbirdsp REMF

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Oddometer:
    8,950
    Location:
    Nebraska
    The whole change history is on that page - unless I'm not following you :dunno
    #38
  19. ramz

    ramz Professional Trail Rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,999
    Location:
    Salida, CO
    I'm looking for BaseCamp Mac 3.3.1 info, not 3.3.0.2 Beta.
    #39
  20. guns&coffee

    guns&coffee Long timer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,858
    Location:
    Prescott
    I have a Montana 650t. I like using BC to make a route using WP's. I'm thinking about purchasing the 24K topo maps to see NPS/NF roads and trails. Should I be able to see these on BC or MS?
    #40