Basket Case Bike - Should I do it?

Discussion in 'The Perfect Line and Other Riding Myths' started by jacktwitch, Nov 16, 2020.

1. jacktwitch

jacktwitch Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I grew up driving a POS truck offroad and have continued the tradition of being a Truck/ Jeep guy who fixes his own stuff. Everything from replacing clutches, to power steering pumps to suspension. I have bought and "flipped" a few vehicles successfully. Im no mechanic but I can read a manual and turn a wrench.

As work and family is cutting into my free time I am basically leaving the jeep world and trading it for a more boring reliable suv, I simply dont have the time to deal with chrystler reliability. I am growing into the 2 wheel dirt world instead, after having ridden on road for years.

I really want to learn to wrench on bikes even more than I know how to work on cars. I swapped the clutch on my new (to me) 07 Yamaha YZ250 and was amazed at how simple and fun it was. No using big jacks and crawling under vehicles, relatively simple system with minimal electrical work ( my nemesis).

A guy local to me is selling a completely dissembled YZ250 that is a couple years newer. Looks like he bit off more than he could chew when he bough a bike with a seized lower end, bought all the parts to fix it. For just under a grand I could buy it from him and put the bike together myself, while using the experience to learn how every nut and bolt on the bike works.

At the end I could probably sell it at a decent enough price, maybe not to make money but to at least cover any specialty tools or missing parts I need to buy. I have the shed space and decent set of basic tools, so I think I could make a good run at it. I just dont want to inherit a train-wreck that just takes up space and makes the wife angry. Also it will make a significant dent in my saving for upgrading from my xt225 to the wr250r I lust for.