Battle Scooters Favorite Regular Bikes

Discussion in 'Battle Scooters' started by Blue&Yellow, Nov 29, 2019.

1. Blue&Yellow

Blue&Yellow but orange inside...

Oddometer:
    Battle scooter members are a fairly diverse and interesting bunch of folks who for one reason or another have come to ride scooters. Some of us have plenty of skin the game and have ridden a lot of bikes while others are just starting out and a scooter might be their first motorized two-wheeler. So fairly diverse backgrounds, perhaps more so than you find in other rider circles.

I had an idea that it might be fun to ask what other two-wheeled vehicles you rate and either own, would like to own or have be impressed by during a demo ride or other. Try to keep it to first hand experiences and not just about looks or specs, but bikes you've ridden and maybe could see yourself owning.

Me myself I've been riding for almost 20 years and I've tried nearly every type of bike and riding along the way. Along the way I've also been into mountain biking and these days I've skipped all enduro and mx riding and I'm 100% mtb when it comes to "off-road riding". I still manage to find myself on an enduro bike from time to time but I don't own one. This is pretty free-form but here goes for my part:

Favorite fun middleweight nakeds: Suzuki SV650, any naked KTM 390-890, Yamaha MT-03 and MT-07, Triumph Street Triple R. (I prefer the SV650 with a nice exhaust to nearly any Ducati Monster, sue me).

Favorite fun big naked: I actually prefer a bit less horsepower on the road but I rate the Triumph Speed Triple R, Yamaha MT-09 and Aprilia Tuono Factory 1000R.

Favorite touring bike: Honda NC750XD with some extras bolted on (yes, really). Relaxed and fuel efficient. 55bhp is plenty with this torque curve. I don't like touring on big and heavy bikes, I stick to the backroads and don't need +1000cc power, weight or running costs.