1. Adventure Rider Print Magazine!
    We're doing a print magazine this November - 128 pages of high quality adventure riding stories, photography and interviews!

Click here to purchase a copy for $9. Limited copies still available.
    Dismiss Notice

BDR Routes - How long do they take by route?

Discussion in 'Americas' started by everson65, Aug 20, 2019.

1. everson65

everson65 Intrepidnation

Oddometer:
    Hi fellow throttle junkies! I am preparing for a trip leaving from my home in Fargo, ND heading down to Mesa, AZ in mid-September. I am having a hard time determining exactly how long to allocate for the trip and still make my flight home. I have a lot of experience with this type of travel and am an experienced rider that can cover some good distance, but I like a little bit of downtime to hike, take in the scenery...and a buffer in case of any issues.

My question is basically this: What is the average amount of time that it takes to ride the entirety of the CO BDR trail?

Secondly, does anyone have any good routes through Wyoming that they would suggest? I plan to ride from Fargo to Red Lodge, MT on black top as there isn't much to see on that stretch, but then from Red Lodge down to the start of the CO BDR I am kind of winging it. Any route suggestions would be appreciated!

Last question would be if anyone has been lucky enough to ride both the CO BDR and the Continental Divide Trail if they prefer one over the other? I have GPS tracks downloaded for both and might jump back and forth if it makes sense.

Much appreciated!
  2. Little Bike

Little Bike Air/Clutz Sue Supporter

Oddometer:
    Hi and welcome to advrider! You’ll probably get more help if you post this over in Trip Planning.
  3. wbbnm

wbbnm Long timer

Oddometer:
    I can't remember about the CO BDR, but all the others I have used are broken down by Days with one track per day sometime called a section. Most I have used are about 200 miles a day.